Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle

Ooohhh… Isn’t that him being tsundere or something?


Hitsugi no Chaika quite took me by surprise. It may not be one of the best anime that aired during its season but it sure came out as an enjoyable series, despite the skepticism that I had.

I wish I could say the same for the second season though.

While the series maintained some of its strengths from the first season, such as characterization and an intriguing plot, it lost its way of narrative and the consistency of its pacing. They suddenly showered revelations and characters changed overnight. It was still enjoyable, imo, but boy was it messy.

So I’m guessing she did lose her memories and Tooru is replacing them with happy ones… What about Red Chaika?

That aside, i’m glad the series was over. I’m quite tolerant when it comes to finishing things I have started though I have to admit,  I was on the verge of dropping this series mid-way due to how iy turned out. I guess thr momentum from season one made me exoect too much from this series.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 14:15:21

    Yeah, rushed and messy. My expectations were low and though the art and animation surprised me with how well it turned out (specially some of the action scenes), but the plot seem too fall into predictable patterns way too often (made worst by the rush, which seem to have reduced many of the characters to just caricatures). Having said all that, it is still miles better than many other “rushed” animes we had this year :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

