Week That Was #16

But seriously, I love this series.

Comedy in its purest form. I have to admit, Seo’s date with Hirotaka and Nozaki’s “casting” in the play were my favorites. Definitely one of the best comedies this season.

While I hate characters that act like a sore thumb among the group, I have to say that Machi’s reasons for doing so are logically sound, and I can’t help but admire how the character was made. She’s simply the lone wolf. People misunderstand her actions and intentions which ironically, what she did with her sister (must’ve run in the family).

And it’s actually pleasing to watch how she changed her personality once she realized she was accepted in the group. That’s… quite a human reaction. I mean, I never expected her to suddenly promote Yosakoi to the guests and members of the inn after she started being accepted and practicing with all of them. I don’t see it as a fraud/hypocritical personality but rather, the kind of attitude that you get when someone starts to warm up to you. Tsunderes are awesome, hard-working ones, more so.

And there’s another great series that departed this season. They say that Zwei was long but I will agree with most claims that they did a good move in cutting the entire arc. One, introducing Kuro and Bazett, and the other, the Eighth card.

And this series is still enjoyable. Beautiful fight choreography aside, the addition of Kuro and the threat of Bazett is a good way to stir things up. It leaves me wanting to see how they would resolve things especially with the involvement of the Eighth card. Add in the fact that they only have 3 cards in their possession now, I wonder how they plan on facing the challenges ahead.

These…

… Two

And that wraps it up for this week. Most one-cour shows are left with two episodes before this season ends and I’m looking forward to it. Especially Tokyo Ghoul, Zankyou no Terror and Aldnoah. And Haikyuu is also ending. I do hope it would have a second season. I really love how they did that manga adaptation.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 15:47:43

    Agree with your assessment of Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, Hanayamata, Prisma Illya. These are among my top few animes of the season.

    Are you looking forward to any shows coming next season?

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 01:53:44

    I haven’t reviewed the upcoming stuff this season but if there are 2nd seasons and whatnot, I’d usually vouch for those. If i’m not mistaken, Log Horizon and Fate airs this season right?

    Reply

  3. x
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 04:52:06

    The ones I know about:
    – Amagi Brilliant Park : Probably one of the more anticipated anime of the season. Written by the guy who wrote FMP, animated by KyoAni.

    – Denki-Gai no Honya-san: Silly comedy about group of quirky characters a doujin shop. Adapted from manga.

    – FS/N UBW: Not sure if I really want to watch yet another incarnation of this series ^^;. Prisma Illya is one thing, but watching another rehash of the same story yet again doesn’t seem too appealing to me, even if it seems likely be a lot better than the previous incarnation :p.

    – GBF Try: GBF is back. New story. New characters. Don’t think I’ll be interested :p.

    – Gundam G no Reconguista: Doubt I want to watch, but might change my mind if I get recommendations.

    – Chaika2: I’ll probably end up watching this despite my misgivings :p.

    – Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de: No idea what this is about, except that it’s by Trigger.

    – Log Horizon2: Definitely will watch. Hope it won’t disappoint.

    – Madan no Ou to Vanadis: Fantasy novel material. I found much of the novel mostly boring with some highlights at some parts ^^; (the later parts of the novel seem more boring than the earlier, presumably the anime won’t get to those parts). Should be easier to adapt than Mahouka I guess :p?

    – Nanatsu no Taizai: Adapted from manga. Shounen battle material. Overpowered characters all over the place. The whole story is one never ending battle. I’m not sure if I’m interested in watching an anime adaptation (specially given that I’m losing interest in the manga).

    – Psycho-Pass2: I’m giving this a pass :p.

    – WIXOSS2: Never got around to watching the first season. Not going to make the effort to catch up to this :p.

    – Trinity Seven: Adapted from manga. Harem. Magic.

    – Yowamushi Pedal2: I’ll give this a miss, though I did enjoy the first season :p.

    I haven’t look into the others yet.

    Reply

  4. x
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 05:20:55

    Heh, DEEN taking over Log Horizon ^^;. Hope they don’t mess it up too much :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

