Week That Was #15

And this is why Iri is so damn epic… Well, not until shit drops in the last few episodes of Fate Zero…

Instead of watching Gundam Unicorn, I’ve started and finished season 1 of Game of Thrones… So yeah, that sums up what I’ve been up to over the past few weeks.

I really like Kuro’s impact for the show. Not only did she progress the series dramatically from collecting the class cards but her attitude that serves as a foil to Ilya’s naivete is a welcome spice to this season’s arc.

That, and Chiwa Saito IS one godly seiyuu. It’s safe to say that she’s usurped the spotlight from Mai Kadowaki and Nazuka Kaori and is carrying this series like a boss!

Han Megumi may be a talented seiyuu but her Engrish is unbearable. I have nothing against her and I respect her voice work but my God was her English so awful! And not to be sexist here but I’m hearing some of the male extras (Five’s “staff”) to speak better English than her! Damn!

That aside, I do love how much of a pain in the ass Five is against Sphinx’s efforts. Her intellect and cunning is definitely a force to reckon with and now that she knows Sphinx’s greatest weakness (Lisa), I wonder how she’ll be playing from now on.

Speaking of which, despite the fact that I hate obnoxious princesses like Lisa, I can’t find myself to get really mad at her. She’s so damn cute! I don’t know if it’s how the character is portrayed or if Atsumi Tanezaki is doing a good job making her adorable, but there’s this charm from her being an annoying-bitch-that-still-tries-hard.

The power of gender-bent characters

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, SAO II is SAO done right. The entire arc is entertaining. There’s this fluid pacing where they explored the world of GGO as the lax environment of a game then subtly instills that fear of death. And considering this feels like a mirror of the original first half of SAO, the narrative of this version puts the original to shame.

I’ve already read this arc of Kuroshitsuji from the manga but reviewing this again in the form of an anime adaptation makes this series depressing, considering what happens at the end of it all.

I’ve been complaining how most manga adaptations suck and tend to be boring but the appeal of Kuroshitsuji strikes me differently. I don’t know if it’s the visual quality, the music, or the cast but Book of Circus is definitely an adaptation done right.







So much for your shot at redemption Cruhteo

If the producers of Game of Thrones collaborated with Gen Urobuchi, I wonder how much despair they’d be able to conjure…


After what he did to Slaine, I’m not surprised…

In an unexpected turn of events, Cruhteo gets the spotlight in this episode of Aldnoah. And while Cruhteo may be an arrogant lord, you have to admire that man’s loyalty to the empire. Of course, he did a lot of unforgivable things and his actions does seem to exploit Asseylum’s “death” but after seeing Slaine’s resilience in order to protect the princess, I have to commend how he acted, acknowledging the Terran’s loyalty.

But alas, Saazbaum came in his epic mobile armor and killed the guy, kidnapping Slaine in the process. And I guess he’ll be acting the “good guy” to have Slaine spill the beans on Asseylum’s whereabouts.

Other stuff that’s going on:
– Dropped Tokyo ESP and Blade Dance… Even the prowess of Ibuki Kido can’t save me from boredom… She deserves better roles dammit!!
– Hanayamata is still adorable! Yaya felt out of character in the latest episode though.
– Tokyo Ghoul is still good but I was seriously pissed at how much of a weaksauce Kaneki was… Man, his naivete is annoying!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11:18

    Kuro is the only real new element of the show so far, and it’s good thing her portrayal is good, as it would otherwise be just more of the same.

    SAO2 is indeed SAO “done right”. The plot bores me (as always with SAO :p), though the visuals are great.

    I’ve changed my mind. I’m not going try Aldnoah after all :p.

    Not surprised that Blade Dance end up being too boring. I’m still watching Blade Dance, but it is really generic stuff, and they likely won’t get to the more interesting parts of the story.

    Hanayamata continues to be fun. I’ve been wondering when Yaya would explode with all the pressure she bottles up inside, so this didn’t feel all that out of character IMO.

    Others I’ve enjoyed a lot:
    – Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun: Continues to be hilarious and creative.
    – Majimoji Rurumo: Nostalgia is still strong in this one.
    – Rokujouma no Shinryakusha: Seem to get better and better. Now I’m real curious about trying the novel.
    – Barakamon: Still pale in comparison with the manga, but continues to be good to watch.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 13:11:46

    Being a star wars fan, I really like that lightsaber sound😀

    Aldnoah is good… Think of it as a toned down version of Game of Thrones.

    I’m actually wondering when they’ll get the President to join them. The 4 members of Hanayamata is actively dancing except for her =/

    Nozaki is still good. The silly antics works wonders for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

