The Week That Was #2

Waste not, Want not

As another week ends, garbage collection begins.

Pupa was a series that could potentialy offer so much but never did. It was a disappointment of sorts, with a narrative that fails to flesh out a cohesive story. And it’s such a waste since it really did have that potential, stoy-wise.

Lots of manga adaptations but a few could ever reach the standards of a good one and Chaika is one of those that failed. I’ve read the manga and the anime immediately hinted something off. As far as I remembered, Chaika was capable of speaking fluently, not like this one. And whatever comedic impact the manga had felt lost in the seriousness of the anime. I don’t know if I should bother with this series. Will see after another episode.

While Black Bullet felt really faithful as an adaptation, it doesn’t feel as exciting. It falls along mediocre adaptations such as Medaka Box, Nisekoi, and Kaminomi (they are faithful but has no oomf). Then again, since manga translations are slow as fuck, why not stick with this a bit longer?

If we’re basing off the manga then there’s something wrong with this series especially Souta’s character design. If we’re not basing it off the manga, there’s still something wrong. If anything, the development as a whole felt rushed especially with Akane Souta’s introduction and the flags. But like with Black Bullet, since the manga translations are slow, i’ll probably stick with it.

This series just reminded me how I missed Soul Eater’s excellent battle animations. The animation quality is good and the simple skirmish made it better. Soul Eater Not! offered a good start so let’s see if it can maintain such quality.

It’s Matsuoka again and as I mentioned in my No Game No Life post, he really sounded like Okamoto (considering Okamoto was also a mangaka in Bakuman) in Mangaka-san. I’ll probably pick this series since I don’t think I have picked a comedy for this season. And for the record, I’d prefer not showing panties. Going with Shiroyasha’s logic (Mondaiji) not being able to see panties teases the imagination.😀

It’s just like Arpeggio minus the moe and since this has Angela singing the OP song, I expect character deaths…

FUCK YEAH!!

See? Did we have just our first casualty? The plot seems interesting enough ESPECIALLY the SciFi. Hope things doesn’t disappoint.

And that’s probably it from my interest list. If you have any suggestions, feel free to drop by and comment about it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 22:08:13

    Chaika is actually based on a novel rather than manga. The manga was adapted from the novel. Well, I wouldn’t put much trust in the manga translation for this kind of detail :p. Then again, I wouldn’t say that this caricature like portrayal of the characters in the anime is in any way impressive ^^;.

    I’ve never read or watch other Black Bullet stuff, but I think I mostly agree with you about this anime.

    Kanojo ga Flag: Yeah, this is rushed big time. I get the feeling that the storytelling won’t be all that good, but the voices make up for it :p.

    Sidonia: I like reading sci-fi, but I’m not so keen on watching sci-fi ^^;. Specially not one full of character deaths :p.

    Mekakucity Actors looks good BTW. Not flawless, but fun😀.

    Atelier Escha & Logy looks decent as well.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 22:53:48

    Watched Ping Pong and Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin and I have to say, both were surprisingly good! Well, I still have doubts about Ping Pong since it reminded me of Aku no Hana (which I dropped) but for Nanana, I say that the plot interests me. That and the characters are funny. (MC copping a feel on a ghost?! You have balls man!)

    Reply

  3. x
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 23:29:35

    Yeah, many have compared Ping Pong to Aku no Hana. They both use different technique though, even if the effect might seem similar to some. Also, I think this style seem to work for Ping Pong better than the style that was done for Aku no Hana did for that anime. I like the character portrayals in this one, and the scenes are really presented with style, with great timing, good transition and all that.

    Nanana surprised me as well. I never expected it to have an adventure kind of feel and an MC that’s rather smart (IMO). He didn’t just cop a feel on a ghost. He broke his arm to do it😄. I’m not even sure if Kouichi (Daimidaler) would have gone that far :p. I started watching this expecting some kind of cliché romcom, but found a refreshing and amusing story instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

