The Week That Was #1.5

I- wut

Well, Daimidaler is obviously bullshit but I can’t help but get all those nostalgic feels especially when Masaki Endoh began singing the retarded opening song. This somewhat brings back the cheesy stuff in my childhood with the bonus grope fest. Should I continue watching this?

Not sure bro

Found this one from RandomC

Add that Kirino bitch and we’ll have ourselves some Oreimo. If there’s a wincest that made sense, it would be this series. Tatsuya OP as fuck! Hope they would animate the arc where he used Material Burst.

OI OI OI!

I never recognized the voices of these two until I found out in MyAnimeList. These lovebirds! D’AAAAAAAW!

I’m liking this series already!

Lump together a handful of aspiring female seiyuu and throw them in a setting where they each show how fucked up they can go with their acting and Akuma no Riddle lands itself in my alley!

No matter how small or insignificant a role is, Sugita does it like a boss

It’s not that these chicks are total nobodies but these are the ones that gets easily overshadowed by powerhouses. To point, I rarely notice them in their roles.

Well, even if we have Sakurai and Sugita in this ship, I don’t think they will be THAT imposing to the all-girls battle royale.

In all honesty, I want this series animated. I’ve been reading the manga and found it quite interesting but truthfully, the acting sucks. Yuuki’s reactions felt forced that it pales in comparison with his mood in the manga. Dunno if I should still continue.

I’m too tired to pull a Fry reference here… orz

Like with the manga, this series starts slow. Hopefully, things get interesting especially when Murakami shows off his genius.

The first time I read Haikyuu! was when I was active in League of Legends. And my first impression on this series? PURE WIN!

I’m not really into sports anime but Haikyuu is one of those exceptions especially after how the story emphasizes individual strength then subtly relates it to the strength of the team as a whole. And if you’re someone who’s playing ranked in LoL, you may find yourself sympathizing with this manga. The amazing thing with the manga is that it exploited the characters’ strengths and weaknesses and I found myself empathizing with each of them.

For starters, Shouyu’s shortcomings, Tobio’s calculations, they may have different personalities yet they both share the drive to win and fight. And as I said, remembering the days when I played ranked, trying to reach platinum but failing every time, cursing my teammates and my own weakness, this series definitely hit home.

And as with how the manga imprinted a positive impression, so does the anime. And realizing it, I was quite surprised to find myself enjoying this episode even though I read it way back. There’s something refreshing with this episode compared to other anime adaptations that I have seen.

And that probably wraps it up. I wasn’t really planning on writing something since I just got home from another grueling overtime but after watching Haikyuu, I found myself motivated. Well, probably not motivated enough to play LoL again and challenge ranked.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 03:20:49

    – Daimidaler: Agreed. This is bullshit, but the nostalgia is strong. I’m watching it just for the nostalgia (despite the bullshit, which often leaves a bad taste in the mouth)😄. If I’m not mistaken, Ibuki Kido will voice one of the characters in this one.
    – Rettousei: Based on what I’ve seen from the first episode (and the way they are adapting the novel to the many different mangas, seemingly with the intention for promoting the anime), I’d say your hope will likely come true. This has twenty six episodes BTW.
    – Captain Earth: I didn’t bother to try it :p. The promos gives me a Star Driver vibe, and I’m not sure I want to watch that kind of story again :p.
    – Akuma no Riddle: I didn’t bother to try this one :p. Might give it a try if I find my list of anime too short for the season or something.
    – Isshuukan Friends: Not the best voices, but this looks good to me. I’d say there are voices that are worst than this one in other animes this season.
    – Brynhildr: This turned out much better than I expected. I can hardly believe this is done by ARMS (which typically means really low quality, no polish, too much superfluous fan service… etc) ^^;. Enjoyed the manga (despite this kind of story being something I usually avoid nowadays :p).
    – Haikyuu: Doesn’t seem to be my thing :p (somehow the first chapter of the manga didn’t catch my interest). Is this any different from a show like Kuroko (aside from being different sports)?

    Others that I’ve tried so far:
    – Majin Bone: First episode felt like an episode of Ultraman (without the giant monster battles) or Kamen Rider or something😄. Not sure if I want to watch more of this yet :p.
    – Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou: Comedy execution could be better (I expected better from this director/series-compositor combo). Silly romcom that reminds me of older (more “innocent”) romcom animes. Will probably watch more if it doesn’t annoy me too much.
    – Seikoku no Dragonar: Gives me vibes from Zero no Tsukaima, except seemingly less comedy and more rushed pacing ^^;. I’m still interested in where the story goes, so I’ll likely watch to the end (as the manga releases and novel translations don’t seem to be going anywhere soon).
    – Abarenbou Kishi Matsutarou: Old school stuff. The fact that the manga this adapted from was first published in the seventies really does show in the first episode. I’m curious enough to see where this will go next despite being a bit uncomfortable with what is presented :p. Reminds me of some older boxing animes…
    – Baby Steps: Overall, the quality looks kind of sub-par :p, but I liked the manga and the pacing seems okay so far. I’m a sucker for this story ^^;. Tennis. Romance. Smart protagonist.
    – Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii: Art and animation felt like a mess at the start, but seem to gradually get better as the episode continues ^^;. Shoujo fantasy story with an independent female protagonist. Looks to be a good one, but I’m not sure if I want to watch more (will decide later :p).
    – Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara: Feels a bit too rushed, but otherwise this looks fun :p. Voices seem to be great, and Ibuki Kido voicing a major character in a comedy? I’m watching :p.
    – Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to: As expected, this is silly nonsense, just like in the manga…

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 00:17:48

    Watched Dragonar and lost interest. It wasn’t appealing imo. Please do share your thoughts about it if you continued the series

    Black Bullet looks promising but felt a bit lacking for some reason. What “lacks” is something I can’t distinguish yet.

    I haven’t watched Kuroko no Basket so I can’t really say. I guess I’m sympathetic with Haikyuu due to the strong resemblance in terms of experience when I played LoL. And I have a soft spot for the underdog, in this case, the protagonist is good but was never able to hone his skills early on due to his circumstance (He’s the only volleyball member in the boonies and nobody wants to play with him).

    And all this Ibuki Kido… Man, we’re definitely Kido fans if we’re after any series that she’s in for this season. Not that I mind though… Btw, have you continued watching Pupa? I stopped after ep 1 and would marathon it later on.

    Reply

  3. x
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 04:36:49

    Yeah, Dragonar isn’t appealing for the most part. The only reason I bother with it is due to the manga and novel translations not getting much further any time soon. If the novel gets translated I probably wouldn’t bother with this at all. At any rate I might still end up dropping this anime if it annoys me too much or is simply too rushed to even be a quick summary of the story. It’s not as if it’s a fantastic story either, judging from what I see in the manga :p.

    I’m still kind of hesitating about picking up Black Bullet :p.

    Heh, I didn’t realise how much I missed Kido’s voice until I watched the first episode of Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara😄. Like you, I dropped Pupa after the first episode. I might marathon it later as well. Though I’m not too keen on watching it, I think it won’t be too bad to marathon, as it’s bunch of short episodes.

    More anime to come still… :p

    Reply

  4. x
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 11:15:00

    Had a look at Black Bullet. The characters are appealing but the story feels kind of meh. The portrayals for the side throwaway characters seem rather insulting. The presentation feels rushed to me, and there’s too much repeating monologues towards the end, I wonder if anyone really listened to all that stuff ^^;. The whole thing feels like it’s been done somewhere else before or something :p (various parts remind me of other anime and manga I’ve watched/read before). Having said that, this still looks promising. I’ll continue to watch this.

    Other’s I’ve tried this week (so far):
    – Mahou Shoujo Taisen: This is what Gainax does nowadays? ^^;
    – No Game No Life: Looks good so far, though faster paced than I’d like. Hope it won’t turn out like Kaminai :p.
    – Soul Eater Not: Better than I expected. I’m not a big Soul Eater fan, but I think this is going to be fun.
    – Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka: Silly cute girls doing cute stuff anime. Doesn’t break new ground (nor does it have the best comedy execution), but not too bad either. Familiar voices. Cliché setting and antics.
    – Hitsugi no Chaika: Could be a lot better, but not the worst adaptation that I’ve seen :p. I’ll watch mostly for the story, as the manga moves really slow, and the novel translation doesn’t seem to be getting anywhere.
    – Ping Pong: Best first episode of any anime I’ve watched recently. Very polished. The way this was presented easily pulled me into the story. I highly recommend giving this one a try even if one isn’t interested in sports anime.

    Reply

  5. x
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 18:30:17

    More stuff I just watched:
    – Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin: This looks more interesting than I expected. A protagonist who actually know how to look things up? A protagonist who doesn’t look weak, helpless and pathetic? Rather rare for this kind of story :p.
    – Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san: Silly three minute comedy with yuri subtext ^^;.
    – Sidonia no Kishi: I was bored for the first five minutes :p. Gradually gets more interesting. Completely 3D animated. Space opera? Mecha. Drama. Somehow I can’t seem to get interested in the story or characters. Maybe the 3D models just are not expressive enough (unlike in Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio… :p)? ^^;

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 20:19:49

    Will check ping pong later. I’m not a volleyball fan yet I watch Haikyu! So i’ll give this one a shot.

    Ryuugajou really interesting? The first few minutes felt boring imo. Will probably continue the whole episode later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

