Keeping Expectations Low

lolwut

This is how I feel about this series

Character designs are still good but the overall atmosphere of Nisekoi, as presented within 3 episodes, felt bland. I really understand that Raku has this habit of internal monologues and whatshit but Kouki Uchiyama’s acting felt really forced that it deprives the enjoyment that Raku’s character is supposed to have.

His acting feels like shit… literally

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 05:52:02

    I have much lower expectations for this one, so I didn’t mind it that much. To me, Nisekoi is a pretty bland story. I’m mostly only waiting for the remaining characters in the cast to show up and have the antics start to escalate :p, other than that I do still enjoy what Shaft/Shinbo is doing with this for the most part, though the voices keep reminding me of other characters that the seiyuus have voiced in the past (which can be really distracting ^^; ).

    BTW, I highly recommend watching Mikakunin de Shinkoukei if you get the chance. I thought it would be just yet another moe slice of life show (it does have certain aspects of that :p), but it’s turning out to be a very well executed comedy drama. It’s a lot of fun and has good storytelling for the more serious part of the plot as well.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 08:30:59

    I agree that Nisekoi has a bland story but there’s something in the manga that makes it more enjoyable than the anime. Whether it be the slow pace or Uchiyama’s acting, there’s something in the anime that provides this awkward, boring feel.

    I watched Mikakunin and while I do enjoy the flow of the story and how it transitions nicely from comedy to drama, I felt like this was one show that doesn’t click with me =/

    Reply

  3. x
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 05:01:13

    @baka~

    Twenty episodes. That explains the pacing.

    Been busy?

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 10:08:42

    Very… Been swamped with overtime and by the time I have a write-up idea ready… I wake up to another day… orz

    Dropped Nisekoi btw… The series was annoyingly shitty. The manga is waaaaaaaaay better by heaps.

    The only time I am able to watch a series btw is when I’m commuting… orz

    Reply

  5. x
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 02:56:16

    Hope you’ll get a break before the new season starts in another month.

    lol. Well, I guess it’s not for everyone. I find Nisekoi anime to be okay, though it’s true that having knowledge of the manga does distract quite a bit. Though I’m not so sure about the manga being better or worst, but I do find both to be enjoyable for different reasons (and annoying for different reasons :p).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

