Nisekoi Shafted

For me, this episode felt like a faithful adaptation of the series in terms of visuals and content. The only problem with this, however, is the casting.

I get it that Nao Touyama is fluent in English but a part of me is telling that Chitoge’s role is not for her. I dunno, it feels like her ability to act tsundere doesn’t really show in Chitoge’s mannerisms.

Kouki Uchiyama is another good seiyuu but his monologues isn’t really appealing. It’s not that I got used to Shaft -> Monogatari -> Hiroshi Kamiya but from a manga viewer’s perspective, Raku’s monologues are a solid form of his character. If there’s one guy that’s really good at conveying things without speaking to the rest of the characters, it’s definitely Ichijou. Qhich is why I hate how Uchiyama’s take of him felt more of a harem lead rather than an unfortunate good guy (take note, there is a difference!)

Too much Hanazawa is bad. No, seriously. I love her and her acting skills and her take on Kosaki is quite good but I think there could’ve been others who can bring out Kousaki’s kind and feeble nature. I dunno, probably I’m just overwhelmed by the number of Hanazawa roles this season.

Overall, this was a good start, if not awkward when it comes to the voices. Will obviously check episode 2 as to how things would progress.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 02:11:33

    KanaHana everywhere😄. Yeah, the voices will take some time getting used to (for many reasons :p). Looks amusing so far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

