A Season of Time-Killers

The light of Zvezda will shine upon the whole world!

Haven’t watched many anime for this season but I have to say, I only find a handful to be quite promising…

The Graveyard

Mahou Sensou:

Episode 1 offered too much information that never made sense and the cliche development of a band of friends turning power rangers ain’t helping.

Pupa:

The only consolation for this was Ibuki Kido’s singing. The rest, aside from not making sense, failed at catching my attention. I mean, I get it that it’s only 4 minutes but it’s exactly why they needed to have impact. Then again, I did remember Star Wars the Clone Wars mini series and compiling them did make sense. Will see if this series would also prove the same.

Nobunaga the Fool:

For some reason, I find myself avoiding Mamoru Miyano shows for this season. It’s not that I hate the guy but his style of acting doesn’t sit well with the roles he landed on this season. It feels like over-acting which I really hate when the MC isn’t really a psycho (Kira, Death Note) or a neat freak (Kid, Soul Eater). There’s something with his voice that doesn’t just sit well with this season’s MC. And Nobunaga the Fool is no exception. His acting aside, the first episode felt boring.

If anything, Nobunaga just be another seiyuu trap.

Buddy Complex:

Speaking of seiyuu traps, while BuddyCon certainly have a list of amazing voice actors and actresses, I’ve just had it with Sunrise’ staple recipe of confusion and trolling. So not this time. I’d rather watch GBF than this.

Witch Craft Works:

They invested a lot of potential seiyuu for this series but the overall appeal of the episode doesn’t really pack a punch. I did like the cute rabbit minions though.

Noragami:

Another boring start. Somehow reminds me of Yozakura Quartet.

Space Dandy:

Disappointingly boring. There may be a ton of references but the comedic value doesn’t really hit home.

ImoCho:

I already mentioned this before but if I’m going to watch chicks fuck each other, there’s legit hentai. The downside though is they aren’t voiced by Ogura Yui (though there’s a seiyuu under that same name that does hentai).

Worth Considering

D-Frag!:

Talk about one unexpected find though let’s face it, Hana Kanazawa carried the first episode LIKE A BOSS!!

Let’s see if the second episode can keep up.

Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda

Is it me or have Hanae Natsuki found his charm in comedy? One of the reasons why I enjoyed this episode was thanks to his style of acting that fits characters with quirky remarks. His role as Shinichi probably paved his way to take on Jimon Asuta so I’m looking forward to his consistency

Nobunagun:

This is actually on the edge of being dropped. While it annoys me that they try to mix senseless violence with the justifications of character development, Nobunagun has been one hell of an enjoyable ride. I’d prefer this version of Nobunaga more than The Fool.

Auto-Include:

Chu2Koi
Silver Spoon

To Watch:

Nisekoi
Bushi Road
ZX Ignition
Nourin

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 05:47:10

    Mahou Sensou: I’m hoping the second episode would be better, but this whole thing feels like a derivative of many stories :p, so I don’t expect much out of it. Will see how this turns out.

    Pupa: Maybe when watching all the episodes in one go might be better, but I doubt I’m motivated enough to make the effort :p.

    Nobunaga the Fool: I was bored watching the first episode, but the second episode seem better (though I can’t say I’m all that excited to watch more ^^; ). Well, it’s a seiyuu trap for the most part, and I’ll probably watch it just for that :p.

    BuddyCon: Decided not to watch more of this. Like you, I also rather watch GBF😄.

    Witch Craft Works: Somehow the comedy isn’t working as well as I expect. Second episode seem better, however this feels like yet another flawed effort by JCStaff.

    Noragami: Heh. This reminded me of a bunch of things. I found it kind of fun and I like the characters/voices.

    Space Dandy: Agreed, this was boring. Found the second episode just as boring. I’m starting to think it has something to do with the characters or the way the characters are portrayed. At any rate, I won’t be touching this one any more :p.

    D-Frag: HanaKana seem to be everywhere again this season ^^;. Well I found parts of the second episode idiotically funnier than the first😄.

    Sekai Seifuku: I guess I’ll try to watch more of this ^^;.

    Nobunagun: Second episode seem better than the first, and yeah, this is more fun than The Fool.

    Reply

  2. x
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 06:01:12

    Wizard Barristers Benmashi Cecil turn out to be not bad for an ARMS anime :p. Looks interesting enough for me to continue watching.

    Still waiting for Inari Konkon Koi Iroha and Maken-ki Two.

    Reply

  3. Wilco
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 22:09:54

    Mahou Sensou- Seems to be the generic of the generic.
    Nobunaga the Fool- I agree with X that the second episode was better. I don’t hate it nor do I like it I think it is just okay or slightly below average. But it sounds like a dream child between Dan Brown and a Japanese steam punk fan with all this talk of lay lines and other strange stuff.
    Noragami- Seems like Blood Lad 2.0. Girl meets paranormal than loses life then paranormal goes on quest to help her return to normal. Not as colourful but better animation.
    Space Dandy- Just colourful nothing else there.
    Sekai Seifuku- This anime doesn’t look promising. Why? Well besides the point I don’t like the characters, the plot seems strange instead of interesting.
    Nobunagun- Colourful and crazy. Fun but not great.
    Nisekoi- Ummm…shafty? minus any good plot to be seen.
    For me it seems to be an really average season.

    Reply

    • x
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 01:29:19

      Yeah, mostly an average season if one only look at the new animes. Good thing there’s still those continuing from previous seasons, as well as some sequels that get more of my attention :p. What disappoint me most are the so called anime original ones. They tend to be just more of the same this season (or just studios sticking to what they always do).

      Agree about Sekai Seifuku. The characters rub me the wrong way in the first episode and I was kind of confused as to what I was watching ^^;. Nonetheless, it does give me the impression that it might be more crazy comedy than something to be taken seriously. Will probably know by the second episode if this is my cup of tea or not.

      Nisekoi is mostly Shaft eye candy, part seiyuu trap, and silly cliché comedy. The comedy execution is pretty good IMO, but that’s about it. As someone who read the manga, I’d say that if the plot was what I was after, I’d have dropped it a long time ago😄 (I read it for the art and comedy antics :p). Part of me wish the team for the anime adaptation of Nisekoi and the team for the anime adaptation of Witch Craft Works were switched :p.

      Reply

  4. x
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 07:48:31

    Inari Konkon Koi Iroha: Overall this looked better than I expected, but it did feel rather rushed (then again, this part of the manga story was where the drama annoyed me the most :p). I enjoyed the character portrayals. The good art and animation quality surprised me. It’s not perfect, but so far so good.

    Maken-ki Two: As expected, this is fan service all the way. Judging from the first episode, it seem like there might be less plot than the first season (though I could be wrong ^^; ). Probably for the best, as plot isn’t exactly this series’ strong point :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

