Price Paid In Blood

While these exhibitionists cater to the shits and giggles, I still find the entire ordeal sensible. When Satsuki puts her argument like that, it kinda makes sense. People who desire greater things should be willing to throw away trivialities. Compensation is needed, after all, in order to gain such power.

While the plot has been so-so, I still find myself glued to it, wanting to learn the truth behind the Godrobes, the death of Ryuuko’s father, the Kiryuuins, the shady professor. It may not be special but for some reason, it doesn’t stress the viewers to some visual overload. As shallow as it may be, Kill la Kill still have some direction, despite the bombastic foray of visual effects and tasteful animation.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 01:02:39

    Well, this is turning out to be surprisingly well balanced and entertaining enough to watch. Among the animes with crazy visuals this season, I’d say it’s the most refreshing one :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 01:17:00

    Speaking of which, what do you think of Golden Time, Samurai Flamenco, Galilei Donna, Nagi no Asakura, and Ars Nova? I’m still skeptical whether or not I should continue and pick them up =/

    Reply

  3. x
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 03:01:55

    Golden Time: I regret dropping the manga T_T. It looks good, so far at least😉. The characters annoy me, but not too much. So far, there’s no real melodrama *yet* :p. I won’t be surprised if there will be things I really don’t like at some point), but this is turning out better than I expected. I’ll probably watch this to the end unless I start to really dislike it.

    Samurai Flamenco: Still fun for the most part. Not the most entertaining, but I’m slowly getting pulled into the story ^^;. I want to see more of the newer characters (specially some of the female ones) that still have not had much time on screen yet. I still might drop this, but so far it’s entertaining enough for me :p.

    Galilei Donna: This is not really my thing :p, but it’s action packed. I also can’t help but laugh every time I see the goldfish😄 (I sometimes wonder if it would have been better if they titled this “Goldfish In The Sky” :p). Well, it’s only eleven episodes, if the the listings can be trusted ^^;, so I’d expect this to be fast paced all the way through the end. I doubt I’ll drop this (given how short it is) unless it does something I really don’t like.

    Nagi no Asakura: Okada doing her thing again ^^;, though at the moment it feels sort of like the melodrama is strictly restrained from going overboard (like it went overboard in the Fujiko anime) :p. Characters can be annoying, but teenage romance drama almost always annoy me :p. The art and animation in this one might be the best this season I think. I’m worried that the melodrama might get too much for me later. I think I’ll continue watching for now, but I might rethink what to do with this when the year ends, since this will continue into the winter season.

    Ars Nova: Naval battle anime with battleships personified using female avatars ^^;. Well, I’m not too keen on the female avatar thing (though the puns that result from this setting can be hilarious XD), but the battle tactics stuff look interesting. What could be making this less compelling is the art and animation. It looks as if many of the scenes and characters are 3D rendered. It makes many of the characters look listless (or like expressionless dolls ^^; ). The action of the characters seem a bit stiff at times as well. Having said that, I’m still interested in the battle tactics, and this is only twelve episodes, so I’m likely to watch it to the end of the season.

    Reply

  4. V
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 10:26:25

    @X

    About Ars Nova.
    It`s not that many of the scenes/characters are 3D, ALL of it its pure CGI, even the water.
    I just hope they make a decent adaptation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

