Pioneers of the World

Seriously, this show never ceases to amaze me.

This episode reminds me of the time I first played Ragnarok Online. For me, it was the first online game I have ever played that allows interaction with other people (or bots). I recall the adventure that I embarked on during my newbie days. Always exploring for new sights or wanting to listen to new music whenever the area changes. Being killed in areas too high for my level or lost on-route towards some fancy destination. But in all honesty, to observe a changing world within the edges of a flat screen has been a treat for me.

Of course, an adventure is parallel to the character’s strengths. The more grand the sights, the more properly equipped you have to be. And I guess that was when the adventure-driven game turned into objective-driven. That’s when the fun died.

I’m not saying that it is wrong to forsake the adventure. After all, all fun things, at some point, need to end. And for games, it only ends once all objectives have been reached: Whether it is a personal goal of getting top tier equipment, or learning some skill, or defeating a boss, everything works its way toward that end. And I guess this is where the adventurer’s heart falters. When things become objective, everything becomes boring.

Even when I play League, at ranked, when I try to push past my limits and climb at a higher ladder only to fall and fall and sink in some mythical elo hell, I realize that sometimes, it’s not fun. It’s not just because of the pressure of climbing but the view that cannot be seen by you and your teammates because of the difference in skill.

I kind of understand where Shiroe is coming from. A breathtaking view is a sight to behold but sharing it with others gives it so much meaning. And the people who depended on Shiroe to spoon-feed them kills the individual experience.

I’m not saying that strong people should band together but rather, people who work together towards a certain goal live a life of adventure. A defeat for a team wouldn’t feel worse not because you have other people to blame but because you can affirm each other’s effort and hard work and understand why it fails. The same with enjoying a hard-earned victory.

While this episode didn’t reveal what exactly happened to Debauchery Tea Party, I think I understand why Shiroe values that guild so much.

I main supports recently in League so having an anime where the MC is on a supportive role feels like all my efforts and frustrations AS a support have been justified. And to summarize what was discussed lengthily above, people of the same skill see a similar view so I really enjoyed how Shiroe’s party coordinated effectively with his movements that led to a well-deserved victory. Even in League, I appreciate it when my Marksman/ADR or anyone in the team is able to respond immediately with my engages and sets.

P.S. Always treat your supports well.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 09:45:45

    This show is made for MMORPG fans :p (specially the older generation that were more into role playing XD).

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 09:53:06

    And I think that’s a marketing strategy that works well for this series. If I were to pull out a comparison, Log Horizon caters to the gamers while adding tidbits of the player’s perspective while Sword Art Online emphasizes the emotional perspective of the character, making the entire MMO world irrelevant. Well, to each his own I guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

