Ass Kicked

BACK AT YOU, YOU FUCKING HYPOCRITE!!

I was liking the concept then came the preaching which ruined it.

In a way, this series reminds me of Space Brothers. There’s this idealistic dude who aspires to reach his dreams and there’s this realistic one who has lost his inner child… Or something along those lines.

And I honestly appreciate the premise of the story. It is interesting and I know that there will be valuable lessons learned but the execution and the idealistic MC pisses me off. And to be honest, the preaching he did near the end of the episode reminded me of the movie Kick Ass which I liked for its gore and violence. Hit Girl and Big Daddy made that film enjoyable while Kick Ass just annoys the shit out of me.

And I think this is what Samurai Flamenco plans on doing. I’m not really against wimps planning to invoke justice by gratuitous amounts of preaching but these things only work on GAR.

As bias as it may sound, the reason Kamijo Touma’s hypocrisy works is because he manages to make a comeback despite being beaten shitless, unlike Masayoshi who just had his ass handed to him TWICE in this episode.

This series feels frustrating to watch so I’m having doubts. Let’s see if Sugita can save this series.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 15:43:22

    Well, it’s hard to say what this show will really be like from the first episode (where it’s mostly just introductions, and most of the characters have not appeared yet I think?). It is somewhat frustrating to watch this guy run around in a costume only to be beaten up, but I’d like to see where this will go next :p. It could be interesting, or it could be horribly frustrating, preachy and boring ^^;. For some reason, this reminded me of Change 123 (manga), but without the supernatural and martial arts elements XD.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

