The most important thing

This episode sure did a good job in triggering unwanted memories. And to be honest, I’m disgusted. Both at Yura and myself. When you immerse yourself in playing a competitive game, there are times where you’ll find yourself conflicted over what truly matters. Take for instance, basketball. Some people play the sport competitively, some play it just for fun. The bad match-up there would be pitting competitive individuals against people who played for fun. Competitive individuals tend to exert more and have this expectation to be rewarded for their efforts while the casual gamers accept whatever comes their way.

And while I have not experienced foul play to seize victory, I am guilty of being emotional at the heat of competition. I play League of Legends a lot so I know how a hard-earned victory feels but by the end of a match, I too, realize how far I have strayed from my usual self. In a way, I become much like Yura. Strict and focused, doing whatever it takes to win. Be it for revenge, for glory, when you treat a game competitively, there is no such thing as fun.

To the readers, do you have moments where your competitive switch has been turned on? Have you also “hurt” others while you are “in the zone” just for the sake of winning?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 00:08:41

    More times than I would usually admit :p. It’s too easy for me to get so focused on one thing and forget about everything else that may be more important. It’s disgusting, and it’s demotivating.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 04:13:53

    @X

    But have you come to terms with that side of your self who “loses” it?

    Reply

  3. x
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 04:30:06

    Well, depends on what you mean by “come to terms”. I do acknowledge it is an issue, and do try ways to keep it in mind, but much of the time I either have to accept it or sadly hold myself back completely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

