The World in Me

Despite the poor impressions that I have for the first episode, the second one may just be able to pull this series off.

Aside from the consistent animation quality, they did a good job in portraying Unwound Jun’s personality. From someone who is acquainted with the Wound Jun, I’d say the stark difference between their personalities caused by the choices they made back then really fleshes out the growth of their characters based on their choices.

Unwound Jun is obviously much gloomy than his Wound counterpart and the backstory made sense. His life changed after meeting Shinku and the dolls but with his self refusing to choose “Wind”, the timeline diverged and this current persona of his was born.

Ohsaka Ryota has been all over the place for this season (and the last one too). He already established himself in my list as a good seiyuu and his role as Unwound Jun just verifies his skill.

There’s something depressing in his portrayal that convinces me of Unwound Jun’s authenticity as a character. That the emotions he conveyed to the viewer justifies the personality he portrays. And to think that this was the same guy who voiced a certain-retarded-demon-manager and a rapist-wuss-pilot last season.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 17:20:59

    Starting to make some sense out of the story ^^;. Feels rather depressing at parts, but not as much as Watamote so far :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 17:31:15

    Is Watamote any good? I’m skeptical about it. Maybe I’ll marathon it later.

    Reply

  3. x
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 17:53:37

    Watamote looks good I think, but so far I found it too depressing to watch. It’s supposed to be comedy, but I couldn’t even get myself to laugh at all in the first episode OTL. I’ll try the second episode to see if it gets better for me (or rather if I adapt to the comedy ^^; ), but I get the feeling that I’ll probably drop it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

