The Alice War: Rewind

AFTER 7 LONG YEARS!!

Rozen Maiden and I go way back so it’s no surprise that I was excited for this series.

Now despite what others may think, for someone who have watched the first 2 seasons, the ova, and the movie, I could say that they did a good job with this recap episode. This summarized every detail of the Alice Wars by the time the original series started and every detail mentioned here followed the manga strongly.

Which, in itself, is a baaaaaaad way to go since the anime and the manga differ at some points. What makes it worse is that this episode is “unfriendly” to first time viewers of the series. If I watched this without any background of Rozen Maiden, I would’ve considered dropping it.

I guess it would’ve been better if they did a reboot of the series. This time, following the manga faithfully, without the Barasuisho fiasco. That or they continued from where season 2 left and introduced Kirakisho. No matter which path they take, I firmly believe that it requires one whole season to introduce Kirakisho in order to emphasize how much of a threat the last sister is.

And when I say introduction, it means not progressing the series to the “real” story of Rozen Maiden: Zurückspulen which would be the Jun of the parallel universe (2nd world setting). Investing on Kirakisho and how much she basically fucked every body up in the first world setting will pay off later once we get to see her machinations. After all, being the most “handicapped” doll means she has nothing to lose.

What I did like with this pilot though is the improved visual quality of… EVERYTHING.

I can’t help but appreciate how much detail they put on Suigintou’s wings. I love how they looked like feathery, paint brush strokes from a distance but has this feel of being her hair on closer inspection.

Of course, let us not forget that the voices that commandeered this series have all made a name for themselves. Hearing Miyuki Sawashiro AS Shinku just sent chills down my spine. Her voice may not be any different from her other roles but there’s this air of familiarity when she does this character. Of course, the same goes for Rie Tanaka. Oh God, how I missed that villainous winged angel.

And of course, the perpetrator of the ~desu meme. Natsuko Kuwatani’s overly cutesy voice as Suiseiseki may piss some people off but nobody can deny the charm that this doll brings. Too bad they skipped on the character development for this world setting. It’s definitely where Suiseiseki became famous.

I still have mixed feelings with this series so we’ll have to see how things will fare next episode. Hopefully, the progression and flow would stabilize to become something more comprehensible, especially for the new viewers.

** I’m testing uyA fansubs for this series. They did a good job so far with the subbing quality and the fast release. Hopefully, they stay consistent.

** uyA fansubs = Ayu fansubs? =/

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 00:35:53

    Visually this was great🙂. But as a first time viewer (I’ve never watched/read/heard anything of substance about this series before watching this episode), this left me with a ton of questions and feeling mostly lost in the fast pacing of the recap😄. I won’t drop this though (at least not yet :p). I’m curious enough to watch this for now, though I’m still not motivated enough to go find the older anime or read the manga or play the games :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 02:55:55

    That’s the annoying part so far. They crammed in a lot of material, leaving first time viewers clueless to the plot of the Alice Game and the depth of their personalities and more importantly, the impact the dolls held over Jun’s growth as MC.

    Reply

  3. x
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 03:45:54

    One thing I wish they could have done (aside from wanting them to retell everything in detail :p), is to have some sort of introductory narration or something. I had no idea what was going on while watching this, and at some point I was wondering if the whole season was going to be like this episode ^^;.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

