Machine Perspective

BRING IT ON BITCH!!

True to Urobuchi’s fashion of misery and despair, Chamber’s existence and sacrifice is probably the most important lesson that this series taught. To be honest, I never expected his interactions and assessments to be a foreshadowing of the purpose he will serve.

I think the amazing thing with Chamber’s character was that he was the most authentic manifestation of artificial intelligence in its truest sense; sound analysis, provides practical and applicable solutions. From episode 1 up to the very moment where he gave up his life to destroy Striker, one may argue that what he did were all practical solutions not affected by human emotions.

I’m not ruling the possibility that Chamber has developed emotions throughout the time he spent with Ledo but rather, if we analyze his character from context, it is evident that everything that he did was meant to fulfill the role that was given to him. That he IS an interface system that is meant to set up humanity for success. To set someone up for success, one must know how they act, how they feel, how they are bound to grow. Chamber’s actions during the course of the show are the embodiment of such will. Yes, even that scene where he committed genocide against the humanoid squids was a plot device that cultivated Ledo. After all, without that event, Ledo won’t start questioning himself and his existence.

I think it’s just a matter of perspective but I felt Gargantia to be a mediocre-kind of show. I won’t deny that most of the episodes did teach something valuable but I guess the fault comes from the fact that I watched this episodically. I have to admit, I lost interest half-way. Partly because the conversational insights got repetitive and bored the shit out of me. It doesn’t mean that there’s no cohesive relationship with the conversations themselves but I guess I’m not the type who fondly appreciates attending the same monotonous lectures. I appreciate the lessons themselves, it’s the class that I don’t.

Chamber… Never forget

To respond to X’s comment, I guess marathon-ing Gargantia may prove to be an ideal choice. Well, philosophical discourses of humanity and existence may overload the brain but at least the interest meter will persist once the series do catch the viewer’s interest.

Ishikawa Kaito proved to be a good fit for Ledo’s role. He carries the military aspect of the character well along with the alien interactions on a foreign environment. And not just the weird language at the start but the emotions coming from Ledo as he interact with the unknown. Questioning the customs and culture, trying out new things. There’s something authentic with how he played the role.

And yes, Tomokazu Sugita. I would expect nothing less from such an established seiyuu. Sugita clearly drew a line with how a machine interacts as a character and how the character interacts with the audience.

I think the most amazing part of the cast was that no particular seiyuu carried the show. Everyone carried Suisei no Gargantia. From the rookie to the veterans, everyone portrayed a depth of character as professionally as they could and that made the entire experience more believable.

As for Urobuchi Gen, well, despite his methods, I do believe in the value of his “teachings”. People learn the value of things after a loss and he’s quite consistent with that. Gargantia may have bored the shit out of me but I enjoyed the philosophy. If anything, I wouldn’t mind watching another of his masterpiece.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 08:00:18

    @baka~

    Just marathon through this 😋. I can’t say I disagree with any of your assertions about this anime. I still found it a bit more creepy than I’d like. Chamber’s portrayal felt weird in the last part of the last episode. Felt as if suddenly it was replaced by Optimus Prime or some cheesy action movie hero 😓. Overall it was entertaining, but I started to feel bored half way through 😋. I found the many sub-plots and characters simply not well explored (if explored at all), and many of the questions not really dealt with. Still, this was interesting to watch.

    Watched Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou episode one. Overall, I think I like it. Storytelling feels a bit haphazard (might be the directory trying to be too fancy or something?). I cringed at the dog abuse 😭, otherwise this looks like a decent fun comedy.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 02:14:16

    I haven’t decided what to watch for this season but learning from Gargantia, I plan on separating seasonal anime to those I watch on a weekly basis and to one that I ought to marathon. Since my attention span keeps deteriorating as I grow old, I find series like Gargantia to barely grab hold of my interest. Even Nyaruko stresses out some boring moments that makes me want to take a break. I haven’t watched ep 11 and 12 yet btw.

    Reply

  3. x
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 12:39:23

    @baka~

    Well, Nyaruko-san W gets rather repetitive after a while. Taking a break from it won’t hurt :p. For me, initially, watching Nyaruko-san was mostly watching for Kana Asumi to do her thing, but to be honest, I find that it’s just not as entertaining the early episodes of the first season ^^;. This season was more of Kuuko (Miyu Matsuki) spicing things up a little. Otherwise it didn’t really bring anything new, nor did it have the level of energy we saw in the first few episodes of the first season.

    Yeah, there are some anime this season I’ll probably end up watching in a marathon as well. Haven’t decided which ones yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

