The Greatest Joys

I never expected Lucifer to actually enjoy being a bum. It honestly makes me question the motivation he had earlier when he challenged Mao. Perhaps deep inside, he was sick of it all. The fighting, the war. While Mao’s intentions of starting the damn thing has never been shed light seeing the change of heart makes me eager to learn who started what back at Ente Isla. Was it Mao? Was it the Church? For what reason?

Despite the epicness of the episode I still find it pleasing that this series never lost its sense of humor. Sometimes it makes me wonder how most underwear in anime tend to be indestructible and this episode just gave a nod to that claim, albeit with Mao’s comedic touch.

Being Chiho is suffering

Like with Oregairu, this episode felt like the finale, with the last one being a conclusive happy end of sorts. I guess I’ll be speaking on behalf of everyone here that I am hoping for a second season. Hataraku Maou has been extremely good. The main plot of the series provides the serious stuff while the characters themselves add that dash of comedy by fucking it up. And for some odd reason, the formula works. To deliver such witty puns no matter the mood that appeal to the viewer is no easy feat yet this series was able to achieve it. Definitely one of the best series of this season.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jun 23, 2013 @ 21:49:53

    Yeah, definitely one of the best series this season. I’d argue it’s one of the best comedies this year so far. Every episode had me laughing more than any other anime episode this season (and maybe even last season :p).

    Poor Chiho ^^;. Well, at least he makes it clear to her from the start. There’s no chance of getting her hopes up, only to be let down later.

    Reply

  2. charlmeister
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 04:19:16

    Reblogged this on 愛 Kenjii Musings 愛 and commented:
    Hataraku is one of my top favorites. I really hope there’s a second season ^-^

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 07:31:14

    @X

    while I do like the thought that Maou laid out his rules, the amazing thing with Chiho is that she’s the only one who saw his good points before the rest of them (aside from Ashiya of course). and this means something, like a tangible proof that Mao has some kind of innate goodness within him that wasn’t seen at Ente Isla

    Reply

  4. Artemis
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 08:31:59

    I agree, absolutely one of the best shows of the spring season (I keep tossing up between this and Suisei no Gargantia, but they’re so completely different from each other that I’ll probably never figure out which one I like more). I certainly wouldn’t mind a second season of Maou-sama, but if I had to guess, I’d say there won’t be one.😦

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 09:17:57

    Well, if the DVD sales do well, there’s a chance for a second season though I hope they don’t rush it. Rushed second seasons tend to fuck up big time and it would be a waste if the same thing happened to this one

    Reply

  6. x
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 15:27:07

    Yeah, I wouldn’t want them to rush a second season as well. Let them take their time. It’s not the most popular anime this season by any means, but I think it has a strong enough following to get a second season at least.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

