The Common Tongue

Through hunting, the prey and the hunter communicate! We predict each other’s moves, constantly reading one step beyond the next. We fight desperately, trying to outwith the other!

– Pleguzes Jiart

Despite being an action-paced episode, this series’ investment in character development is slowly bearing fruit.

While a part of me is skeptical with how Izuru was suddenly able to level up his game like that, Jiart’s monologue reminded me of how I’d usually react when I play League of Legends; The constant awareness on the battlefield, the fight for survival, the manifestation of one’s instincts, this is what this series has been emphasizing all along.

Being reminded that people change when in dire straits, it somehow justifies how admirable our characters are despite their massive flaws. Izuru aside, Asagi finally shows his worth. He may suck working alone but if put in the pressure called “responsibility”, he suddenly upped his game. And to be honest, I was surprised with how he reacted.

There’s something authentic with Asagi’s sudden change. The realization of how the lives of others hang upon his own judgment, the responsibility and capability for the task; When those concerns dawned on Asagi, it transformed him. Not into something totally far-fetched (i.e. a person having their limiters released or something like a SeeD mode) but into someone fit for the job.

Well, Fuck. A man’s got to do what a man’s got to do.

And to emphasize that idea, they showed that this is still the same Asagi who suck at gattai. There are still some things that he recognizes that he can’t do but with the responsibility given to him, he has no choice but to do it. And I guess this applies to most of us. There are times where we are forced to step up our game, where we have to mature, whether we like it or not.

I have to admit, I’ve been enjoying this series a whole lot more than Valvrave. It has the usual flamboyant battles common in most mecha anime but the investment on character development is something that appeals strongly to my preferences.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    May 27, 2013 @ 01:20:34

    I never thought I’d enjoy an all out mecha battle episode as much as I did with this one. Some parts of this episode surprised me quite a bit, and the story seem to go in a direction that I didn’t expect. That idiot in command is still really annoying though. I suppose he’s there by virtue of being an idiot, as no one else would be given that job due to power struggles and whatnots ^^;.

    Sigh, I’m going to have trouble when the next season starts. More anime starting that I want to watch (specially when compared to this season), versus those continuing from this season that I would prefer not to drop (though I suppose it’s a good thing that I didn’t pick up a whole lot more of them this season :p).

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 27, 2013 @ 01:28:16

    Now that you mentioned it, we’re halfway through this season. i haven’t been putting a lot thought with what the next season brings though I do have my eyes set on some (i.e. Prisma Ilya).

    Aside from Rose 3, that fucker in command is seriously giving me a headache! I do hope his reaction was caught clearly by the media to concoct a shitstorm next episode😀

    Reply

  3. x
    May 27, 2013 @ 03:17:22

    @baka~

    Prisma Ilya is also one of those I’m eyeing. Even if I wasn’t interested in yet another Fate/* retelling (which I am very curious about this one as this is said to be a lot less depressing :p), I’m curious to see what Silver Link can do with this (specially when it seem like this is their only anime production this year).

    A couple more new ones that I don’t think I want to miss (aside from Prisma Ilya):
    – Servant x Service (from the author of Working!)
    – Silver Spoon (love the manga, hope the anime would be at least decent :p)

    Aside from that, there are the sequels that I’ll probaby end up watching:
    – DxD New (The comedy is fun :p)
    – Monogatari 2nd (I’m a sucker for this series ^^;)
    – Ro Kyu Bu SS (I curious to see where the story will go next, even if the fan service isn’t my thing :p)
    – Symphogear G (more singing and fighting! Kidding! First season was fun, hope the second season would be decent at least)
    – Tamayura Futatose (I’m a sucker for this series :p)
    – TWGOK Goddess Arc (I’m sure I don’t have to explain why I want to watch this :p)
    – Teekyu 2 (The first season was so horrible that it was amusing :p, maybe the second season would be the same? XD)

    A lot of school girl animes that I’ll probably end up watching ^^;:
    – Kin-iro Mosaic (not sure if this is any good, but I’ll probably watch it if it is not too bad :p)
    – Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku (even if this end up boring, I’ll probably watch for Ibuki Kido :p)
    – Love Lab (Yuru Yuri anime director and series composition involved in this one, hope it will be fun :p)
    – Watamote (I dropped the manga, but I get the impression that I might like the anime :p)
    – Tokurei Sochi Dantai Stella Jo-Gakuin Koutou-ka C3-Bu (I’ve been avoiding the “girls with guns” genre for many seasons now :p, thought I might try this one as it seems a bit different).

    Others that I’m curious but don’t know enough about to decide if I will watch them:
    – Blood Lad (Never read the manga, but wondering what this is really about)
    – Free (Cautiously optimistic about this KyoAni production :p)
    – Gen’ei o Kakeru Taiyou (No idea what this is like)
    – Hyperdimension Neptunia (I’m really not sure about this one as I’ve never played the game :p)
    – Rozen Maiden (Remake I think? I’ve never touched this series before)
    – Uchoten Kazoku (I think this has potential)
    – Kami-sama no Inai Nichiyoubi (Never read the novel or manga, and I doubt any of the summaries I’ve seen online are any good :p)
    – Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou (It’s another absurd comedy, even at the worst, it shouldn’t be too bad I think :p)

    Those I intend to give a miss but might change my mind about (may not be exhaustive :p):
    – Brothers Conflict (Probably not the kind of shoujo material I enjoy :p)
    – Danganronpa Kibou no Gakuen to Zetsubou no Koukousei (Another adaptation from a murder mystery game, not really my thing)
    – Devils & Realist (Another adaptation from a shoujo fantasy manga, probably not my thing)
    – Fantasista Doll (pretty girl anime that seem to be all about the character designs, don’t think I’m interested)
    – Gachaman Crowds (not into Gachaman :p)
    – Genshiken Nidaime (never did get interested in Genshiken, and I’m too lazy to try pick up this series now)
    – Hakkenden 2 (didn’t like first season)
    – Kimi no Iru Machi (reading the manga is bad enough, not going to go through the same again with an anime :p)
    – Recorder and Randsell Mi (not my thing :p)
    – Senyuu 2 (first season drifted between mildly amusing and mostly boring, not going to bother with this)
    – Tantei Opera Milky Holmes 3 (never bothered with this :p)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

