An Uncanny Bunch of Misfits

Despite the tension that they invested in the past few episodes, it’s surprising how they could pull off comedic encounters like this…

And this…

And I appreciate “breather” episodes like this where we get to see character development without being caused by significant deaths. Besides, people may easily run out of fuel if all they did was pile up the misery and feed people despair every fucking episode.

3 episodes and it looks like we’re almost finished with the introductions. The pacing may feel rushed due to the time skips but I think they did a good job in creating the foundation of the protagonists’ resolve all the while, exploring more of humanity’s complacency. While I don’t think most of the recruits have bad intentions, I do think their mindset reeks greatly of naivety especially when I compare their “goals” to Eren’s vendetta. For instance, the reason for most of them to join the military to be of service to others, their king, government, whatever, feels more of a PR bullshit after seeing what Eren went through.

But if anything, this episode is not just about resolve. It sets up the characters and their personalities and how they would play their role later on. For instance, potato girl running for more than 5 hours? Are you fucking kidding me?! She may have deserved that punishment but man, her stamina and capability to act to take advantage of the situation is a note-worthy trait. And Mikasa balancing herself effortlessly? Even Armin had no trouble with their equipment despite his fragile stature.

As the story moves past its introductions, I’m beginning to get curious now how things would fare. How much despair will be overcome by these characters and their personalities? How much suffering will they have to endure as they experience their wars?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wilco
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 00:10:07

    I for one, liked this episode. I just found potato girl hilarious (my brother wanted to strangle her though).
    But I think the “lost my faith in humanity” guy was responsible for the defective belt.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 01:55:07

    “lost my faith in humanity”

    were you referring the one who got charmed by Mikasa’s hair? but still, for Eren to balance himself with faulty equipment, that sure is something. Though, I was laughing hard when he fucked up and was knocked out cold XD

    Reply

  3. Wilco
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 02:42:35

    Yeah I was referring to the guy who got charmed by Mikasa’s hair.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 02:50:02

    I haven’t read the manga so I don’t know if he did some tampering with it but I won’t be surprised if he comes back later in the story to piss Eren off or to try to sway Mikasa or whatever NTR schemes he has in mind 😀

    Reply

  5. Artemis
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 07:18:32

    I quite like time skips in anime when they’re done right, and this one felt fairly natural I think. I’m not at all familiar with the source material but I’m hoping that Mikasa gets some more character devlopment later on down the track – I’d like to see what her personality would be like if her life didn’t revolve so entirely around Eren.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

