Bad End: Battle Royale

WHAT. THE. FUCK?!

Seriously, bad end there Eita.

And with that, ends OreShura. Despite the slow start, I believe this series was, to an extent, enjoyable even before Epic Ai came in. It did have opportunities to shine despite the numerous instances where things just went stale: Chiwa’s voice acting doesn’t have that impact, Masuzu continues to be an annoying bitch, Eita keeps on being a total retard.

Then came Epic Ai and practically carried the whole show just by her being awesome! Despite the fact that I was facepalming at the cheese overload (Himeka’s confession caught on tape, Eita professing his love), Epic Ai’s quirks alleviated those weird moments for me. And I think that’s the problem of this series.

If the characters aren’t overly annoying, they try to emphasize much on the drama. The only entertainment relief of this naturally comes from Ai and I find it… weird and to an extent, offending. Ai is an amazing character, by far, the only one who charged head on without pretenses. She’s not considered as a childhood friend, an ex-lover from some fictitious setup, or the current girlfriend. Ai simply had nothing save for a vague memory yet she continues her struggle having only that. Yet this series somehow turns her into this convenient plot device that is meant to lighten up the mood every time they go overboard on the drama or characters.

There’s nothing wrong with that but it feels as if this series isn’t taking Ai seriously as a potential girlfriend. I know we have Himeka who doesn’t fall behind in the retarded backstory but let’s face it. Having her around IS depressing as fuck. Only Ai has the characteristic to brighten up an episode. If ever the story would progress, I do hope she gets promoted from plot device, mood changer to an acknowledged girlfriend, Eita’s waifu material.

So what happens now? Since Eita Epic Failed his attempt to have everyone else hate him, this warzone love affair would eventually continue. Second Season? I’m fine with that as long as it involves Ai. Otherwise, fuck that shit. No more Chiwawa, no more Masuzu.

Oh and not to be a total dick here, Akasaki Chinatsu is a potentially good rookie, she’s just not cut out for lively characters. Seriously, mother-figures or sisters, or crazy-ass bitches would probably work well for her. Hyper-energetic ones doesn’t fit the bill.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wilco
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 04:02:51

    Masuzu really was a b*tch (hope that isn’t harsh language according to blog rules). but how does Ai-chan think the town hall will react with that marriage agreement with a blood stamp (reminds me of ghost rider). But that ending was slightly predictable. I do think there will be a second season (as long as the DVDs sells are good or if the manga sells really well).

    Reply

  2. x
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 09:41:29

    Heh, second season or not, the storytelling in this one leaves too much to be desired. Every character ends up being portrayed weakly, missing one thing or another that would make this good. Definitely predictable end, but that’s not the real problem with the last episode. The execution just didn’t really work for me. I’m just glad it is over :p. As for whether I’ll bother with a second season, it will depend on how good it turn out to be, if it even look or sound like this first season, I’ll probably give it a miss.

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 12:03:16

    @Wilco

    don’t sweat it bro, it’s not a harsh word (at least in this generation :p )

    I was actually wondering the same thing. If that blood-stamp was legit and all. I think it’s only acceptable if Eita died =/ But hey, isn’t that only applicable to last wills?

    @X

    The execution was indeed a mess especially during the contest part.

    Reply

  4. x
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 16:48:52

    @baka~

    Any recommendations for the new season🙂 ?

    I see in your plan to watch list:
    – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko
    – Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru

    Any other series of interest?

    I was looking forward to Karneval, but haven’t seen any subs.

    I’ve taken peeks at RDG (drama ^^;) and Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge (weird comedy :p). Visually, they look pretty good, though the pacing is a bit fast, and feels a bit too creepy for me ^^;. I’ve decided to watch for now, but I’m not sure if I’ll get past the third episode. Then again I could end up hooked and torture myself through the whole season T_T. At least these are not two cour like Psycho-pass I suppose. Is there a trend towards significantly more creepy/horror/mystery type of anime recently or something? T_T

    As for comedies, there are a few I’ll probably pick up:
    – Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru
    – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko
    – Haiyore Nyaruko-san W
    – Hataraku Maou-sama

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 02:13:19

    Truth be told, I feel uneasy with this season’s anime since it feels like majority of them are traps. Visually catchy and all that but the content may turn out to be boring.

    Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge is a manga that i’ve read. I haven’t watched the anime yet but the manga gave off this impression that this series is just sexy. But I guess this is where shit falls off. If the anime adaptation turns out to be something below or equal the manga’s then i’ll probably give up on this.

    I’ve been hearing a lot of good stuff about Hataraku Mao so i’ll take my chances on this one.

    Henneko and Oregairu have this visual art style that lures me in so the chances are pretty high on these two. Photo Kano seems like a huge trap, same with Devil Survivor and Aku Hana which feels both interesting and lacking based on their premise.

    Railgun, Oreimo and Nyaruko are probably staples for this season, And lastly, let’s see how brutal BuchGen’s Gargantia turns out. ;D

    Reply

  6. x
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 10:33:42

    Yeah, Photo Kano seems like a huge trap. The manga adaptations of it that I’ve seen were not all that interesting (but neither were many of the Amagami mangas :p). Will see what they do with it.

    Devil Survivor 2 is not my thing. Persona 4 had some interesting twists and quirky characters, but this look more like straight out horror material or something ^^;. I may take a peek if the blogs about it get me interested.

    I found Aku no Hana’s premise intriguing, but I didn’t really like the manga (dropped it after a couple of chapters or so). I doubt I want to deal with another psychological anime ^^;, but I’ll wait for the blogs and see where this goes.

    Feel hesitant to pick up Railgun (I’m tired of the whole Index series :p), but I’ll probably wait for the blogs.

    Will watch Oreimo, though I’m not very keen on it :p. I hear it’s the last season?

    Nyaruko is a must watch😄.

    As for Gargantia, well, I’ll read your blogs, and decide if I want to watch later :p.

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 23:48:20

    It didn’t take long before I lost interest with Photo Kano. Aku no Hana was surprisingly decent despite the unusual animation. Don’t know if I’ll continue watching it.

    Reply

  8. x
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 07:18:06

    I took a peek at Aku no Hana first episode. Looks interesting, but I can see the creepy stuff coming fast (I’m running before I get caught in it :p).

    Photo Kano, I’m giving it the three episode rule (though I suspect I’ll soon drop this seemingly low quality adaptation XD).

    Reply

  9. baka~
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 20:28:48

    The creepy factor of AnoHana doesn’t feel quite supernatural. Er, I think. Though I still don’t know what that flower-eye has to do with anything.

    Reply

  10. x
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 23:01:55

    Probably not so much supernatural, but more psychological and confusingly nightmarish. Not the kind of material I expect to watch while still expecting to get good sleep.

    Reply

  11. baka~
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 22:34:40

    I’ve decided to drop Aku no Hana… I added quite a lot to my list again… OTL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

