A Conceited Future

I never expected this final revelation to have so much impact, leave so much thought, held a lot of meaning. What is humanity anyway? What does it mean to be human?

And so came the big reveal. That the queerats were not entirely an artificially-generated species but rather, were artificially-engineered humans.

Oh my god! And here I thought Psycho-Pass was brutal. So that’s why there were no Normals in this world’s setup. All of them have been transformed into abominations, slaves! What kind of fucked up society is this?! First, they kill their young that has no aptitude to use psychic powers, then they kill their young who is capable of using their powers for evil deeds, then they used their technology to create slaves from the genetic makeup of both man and mole rats

And here I was thinking that queerat intelligence came from their nature. That they were capable of learning, adapting, understanding. Who would’ve thought that they were once a higher form of being mutilated beyond recognition?

Having a strong similarity with Psycho-Pass’ dystopia as well as a system considered to be a necessary evil that “guides” mankind, Shinsekai Yori has been an enjoyably long series. While the series is thought-provoking down to its very core, it held a good balance of suspense, mystery, and adventure.

And I honestly loved the journey that the kids had to take. How they grew up in their world, learning of the truth behind it, of the dark history hidden in their society’s shadows. Everything was well-thought, every character was given a purpose. I can say with confidence that Shinsekai Yori is worth one’s time.

Of course, it would be out of my character if I don’t at least voice out the seiyuu cast. A good series deserves a good set of voices and the cast did not disappoint, especially Taneda Risa. I believe this is the one time I fully got acquainted with her voice (aside from her role as Kaoru in OreShura and that bitch in Tari Tari) and I love it. Her acting, her singing, she’s really good. I do hope she gets to land on more lead roles next season.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 15:06:48

    @baka~

    And I’m still glad I drop this one :p. Though I do think that this is a series that’s special and worth watching, I just couldn’t get myself to continue with the creepy plots ^^;. It’s the same reason why I would never watch Psycho-pass again, and will never watch any sequel to Psycho-pass if they ever made one :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 00:33:13

    It’s the same reason why I would never watch Psycho-pass again

    oh come on, don’t tell me you’re not interested in what happens after :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

