Necessary Evils

I think this has been the most unusual ending I have ever watched. While it leaves a possibility for a second season, in a way, this ending felt as if it’s both empty and complete. The closure for Makishima Shougo and Kougami Shinya was both satisfying and disappointing.

In which I ask, what was I watching this series for? What was the answer I’ve been looking for if I forgot the question?

Makishima Shougo’s final moments revealed his true worth. His only character portrayal was executed nicely that it gave meaning to the existence of the character known as Makishima Shougo. This has been the justification of his crimes. Of the longing he desired. From the system that took away everything. And yet, his death left a hole.

I guess the reason why his ending felt lacking is because we never really understood Makishima Shougo. Even if everything was revealed, it felt as if there’s still so much to learn from him. Makishima have hid his personality behind his string of crimes but this revelation had so much impact to what his true intentions were.

On the contrary, Kougami held the opposite. Throughout the course of the series, we learned who Kougami Shinya is. What his motivation was, and how he exercised his will. But his resolution felt like a lie. It feels empty in the sense that we may never know what becomes of him. Kougami once wished to be a proper detective under Akane’s guidance but he has strayed from that path ever since he chose to commit murder. Leaving him… as what? A wolf? A monster? A vigilante?

I guess that’s what narrows it down. Kougami Shinya’s ending felt empty because it never showed his future. We never know what becomes of him after all that we’ve seen and learned from his character.

Psycho-Pass has been consistently enjoyable. It was thought-provoking and visually entertaining. It had an amazing voice cast and each character certainly had depth. Depending on how they portray their personalities as the situation calls it, the viewers can either love or hate any of the characters.

I would be lying if I say that I’m not welcoming a second season. After all, I wanted to know more of what happens after. Will Akane change as she gains more experience in her field? What becomes of Kougami? What about that rookie that was involved in Ouryu Rikako’s case? And what of Sibly, the sole victor of season 1? Will it continue to look down and toy with humanity or will there be someone who challenges it head on?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 07:02:28

    Well, this anime seem to me more about posing a question than giving an answer. The ending felt to me more like a humanist message along with a concept of a continuous cycle (almost Taoist-like :p). Though there’s enough ambiguity in it to reflect almost anything😄. I’m just glad it’s over, and I don’t need to watch another episode of Butch_Gen’s work next week ^^;.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 00:37:33

    quite off-topic here but did you, to an extent, loved Madoka Magica or did you simply appreciate that series despite the ButchGen having a hand on it?

    Reply

  3. x
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 02:54:17

    @baka~

    lol. Well, to be honest, despite all my complains about ButchGen, I do appreciate all the stories written by him that I’ve been exposed to so far. It’s just that I find myself cringing more often than not when watching something by this guy ^^;, and I prefer not to go through that again if possible. Though I suppose I’ll end up getting tempted enough to watch another one eventually T_T.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

