The Cake is a Lie

Watching this episode reminds me of the first time I watched “The Dark Knight” of the Batman Begins Trilogy. Well, credit it to the similarity of “The Joker’s Magic Trick” at the start of the episode but more than that, this episode reminds me of how Makishima Shougo’s intentions are similar, to a point, with The Joker.

Well, he may not be a mad lunatic going about on the outside but his ideals of anarchy shake the very foundations of the dystopian setting of this series. And to be honest, after watching this series for 14 episodes, I’m beginning to think that Makishima Shougo is the true protagonist of this series.

Much like how Yagami Light and Lelouch Lamperouge became the necessary evil that shaped their worlds, Makishima Shougo is yet another ominous star that appeared over the horizon. However, unlike Light and Lelouch, Makishima is no pushover. He has the combat capabilities that goes on par with his mindset and I really enjoyed how he handled himself as he discarded his pawns.

Now I’m quite skeptical with how he truly hides his scans. Is this a natural ability of his or is this a product of technology? We’ve seen how he hacked the school’s system during Ouryou Rikako’s case so it hints of how capable he is in those fields. But the possibility of him being an individual unaffected by the scans still lingers.

But I guess, the true appeal of this episode came from how good this was directed. Sure, the crimes were brutal but to not even be bothered by it as it happened before you is flat-out heartless! Society is indeed dead if people would watch such real-life scenes without any form of emotion.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 22:08:39

    Makishima indeed feels like the lead in the story, as everyone else in the cast seem to be side characters that mostly just reacting to what he does.

    In the world of this anime, crime is defined by the state of mind rather than criminal acts. Imagine if a person tried to stop the masked men, the bots would probably be confronting the person instead.

    Eight more episodes left, and the creepy factor in this show is already getting to me big time ^^;. I doubt I’ll drop it at this point though.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 00:30:25

    Imagine if a person tried to stop the masked men, the bots would probably be confronting the person instead.

    True to that. What I like about the story-telling of this series is that despite its intricate implementation of its structure and society, they did a good job in exploiting such weaknesses and turning it against them.

    I never thought you’re still considering on dropping this😄

    Reply

  3. x
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 03:58:14

    Well, if it ever start affecting my sleep (with nightmares) or really make me regurgitate food, I might still consider it :p. After watching this show, I really have to think twice about watching another ButchGen anime T_T. The next one is supposed to be a mecha (Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet). I’ll probably not touch it until after seeing reviews, and might not touch it if it has any signs of being dark and creepy. I’m a coward OTL.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 02:46:05

    Accepting your weaknesses (being a coward) is way better than forcing yourself to stomach your fears. Not everyone can have a strong mind. And just so you know, I am arachnophobic X_X

    I guess ButchGen is steadily making his name known through this graphic style of his. While the imagery of his scenes are sometimes disturbing, I do like the wordplay and content he delivers. Well, hope from despair, for instance, isn’t a fresh concept though he does a damn good job in reminding people of this by catching their attention… er… through elaborate, disturbing means… OTL

    Reply

  5. x
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 06:11:41

    I do like his wordplay and content as well. Specially the parts that makes one think much deeper while watching or reading, but much of the creepy stuff I could do without :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

