ERO-GAR

Manabe may not be Kotoura’s ideal knight in shining armor but he is a damn good knight nonetheless.

It’s still vague what this series’ intention is. Does it plan on improving social awareness on ESP? Does it aim to introduce a moral lesson? Well, whatever agenda this series plan to achieve, I have to admit that I am enjoying the current state of things. Delving deeper on the forms of abuse that are bestowed upon those with the gift, this series did a good way in introducing our new character.

Though, I am skeptical with how her intentions came to light in the same episode. I guess this series has no intention of becoming dark all throughout. Sure, it has its grim moments especially when Kotoura puts on her raep face but Manabe’s involvement easily dispels such moments of despair. Which is a bit cheesy to be honest but I seem to like it that way.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 23:50:00

    Well, the premise/set-up is nothing new, but I like the storytelling in this one. The character portrayals are good. The emotions feel compelling for me. The mistakes made by the characters don’t seem contrived. Manabe sure is one badass😀. There’s a balance between the despair and hope that I find rather rare (most shows seem to end up in one extreme or the other ^^; ).

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 15:02:09

    There’s a balance between the despair and hope that I find rather rare

    Now that you mentioned it, a majority of series that I have watched so far does indeed border greatly on one aspect even as it switched to another. While I am skeptical with how fast, or rather, episodic the resolution is, I find it oddly fitting with this kind of anime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

