Akiko Identity FTW

FINALLY!! An anime that made me laugh this season, and a harem to boot! Coming along the lines of Oreimo reversed, OniAi shows promise. For one, I have yet to see serious stuff in this pilot. While it does hint of internal, family issues between Akito and Akiko, I mostly forgot about that when Akiko starts her brocon mode. God-fucking-damn! I’m liking her personality already! Unlike the annoying Kirino who mixes her brocon tendencies by being a fucking tsundere, Akiko is flat-out crazy!

She goes out in the open and declares her intentions and even pride herself for it. Again, no serious stuff so far, but characters who go GAR without being annoying or bitching about it have a strong appeal to me.

While this series hint that it is no different from NakaImo, where it gives off the impression that the girls want to get laid BADLY by the male protagonist, the characters of OniAi make this series stand out more. They’re a bunch of fucking retards!

And lastly, the male protagonist doesn’t feel annoying. There’s no white knight vibes, he doesn’t get treated as shit (except by Ana) nor does it feel like he wants to be treated like one. If anything, he simply exists to be the object of their desire, much to his chagrin.

For a first episode, this series did a good job in catching my attention. Everything felt properly executed, which is crucial as long as comedy is involved, and the characters are enjoyable. Let’s see how consistent this will be.

Oh and I thought it was Satomi Satou who did the voice for Akiko only to be surprised by a newbie that sounds just like her! Ibuki Kido… Another seiyuu to look out for?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nhan-Fiction
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 09:34:41

    That sister is straight up missing all the screws in her head. She is CRAZY!

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 09:48:28

    And that makes her enjoyable 😀

    Reply

  3. x
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 19:12:44

    Heh, don’t forget they are twins XD. Aside from the behaviour of the siblings, this look and feel typical for this genre. Hope this will be good. Must say that most of the new anime this season so far has been less impressive than anticipated.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 00:13:46

    I guess most of the good stuff will come this week. As for “the culling”, i’ll wait til I’ve watched all of them (the interesting ones) before finalizing everything. I find myself addicted recently to Torchlight II so I need to cut down my anime to give grinding some time XD

    Reply

  5. x
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 08:42:22

    @baka~

    Heh, hope so.

    After seeing your screencaps, I decided to watch this one another time. Was wondering why I felt something was off the first time I watched it (but couldn’t figure out what was the cause). On a second watch, I realised that Akiko sounds much older than I expected when she starts shouting ^^;.

    Reply

  6. x
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 08:46:08

    Which is kind of ironic, consider that her seiyuu is supposed to be around the age Akiko is at :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

