As the dream fades

Seriously, I like that

I… like this episode. With all its rushed development and surprise lolwuts, this episode did somehow managed to appease me. Well, I dislike the fact that the IMBA boss from the previous episode that’s been giving 1 hit KO was taken down in a matter of minutes only for the big reveal and the final fight to take place.

I guess when it comes down to it, the reason why I like this episode is because we see the world from the developer’s perspective. I am a programmer, and though I may not be good in my craft, I somehow understand what Kayaba was looking at. It doesn’t make sense how he came to lose sight of his goal and how everything lead to this tragedy but to think that it all began with an impossible dream, just wow. As a programmer, I salute that guy (fictional character as he may be) for doing something so groundbreaking just because he had a dream. But well, stupid actions come from noble intentions, or so they say.

And so, SAO ends and a new journey begins… But well, will this series still be titled Sword Art Online considering this is a different game?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 23:25:11

    Heh, I guess it takes a developer to understand another developer ;). I’m not watching this series any more, but it still does make me curious enough to read about what others think about it. I suppose things will continue to be compressed and fast moving. Starting to get the impression that the anime is more like a history lesson of the world before AW :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 23:46:48

    Well, Nerv Gear technology was mentioned in AW so I guess this series may have taken place before AW. It would be cool to think that way.

    Reply

  3. x
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 00:10:36

    What I mean is SAO anime is less of a standalone story than a prequel of sorts to AW :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

