Life that’s larger than life

Even though I’ve been watching anime for quite some time, there are still some of Japanese culture that I’m unfamiliar with such as the definition of chuunibyou. But well, this pilot did a fine job summing it up into…

Acting like a total retard in public

Let’s be realistic here. Every otaku who indulged themselves in the fandom of any form of literature or craft is guilty of this. And personally, like with Yuuta who bashes his head in reminiscence, I bet some of us are ashamed of the fact that once in our lives, we acted like total idiots, cosplaying the characters and personalities that we held dear before the ignorant public. Oh, if there were only anime and cosplay conventions back then, most of us won’t have to remember such shame.

The story definitely had me going. I’m interested in how Yuuta would handle this girl who keeps dragging him back to the past he’s running away from and how he’ll be able to face and accept the otaku within.

As for seiyuu, I’m really happy that it was FukuJun who landed on the main role. The moment Yuuta does a similar Lelouch pose and Jun said his line, it was badass…. Geeky, yet fucking badass. Mamoru Miyano could’ve done it but I had a feeling that he’ll be overacting while the role comes so naturally to Jun. As for Rika, well, i’m not really familiar with Maaya Uchida aside from her role as Rea in Sankarea which didn’t sit well with me (the series) so I’m still gauging her ability. I think she did well as a supporting character in Kokoro Connect but main characters help me gauge how good a seiyuu is. Hope the opportunity that this series provides doesn’t go to waste.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 00:22:27

    Looks good so far. Though Yuuta contradicting his words/thoughts with his actions over and over again could get annoying for me :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 09:20:55

    Is it annoying because it reminds you of yourself/someone else or annoying because it’s just that annoying? :p

    Reply

  3. x
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 22:38:50

    Probably both :p. It reminds me of myself, specially my younger self, and at the same time contradictions like these can get annoying for me ^^;.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

