Legend Born

While this is one amazing episode, I think that the faults are caused by the poorly invested episodes that came before this one. For starters, Asuna’s dere~ mode. While seeing Asuna go lovey-dovey with Kirito is a treat, I feel that the pacing has been rushed. Should we blame this episode? I don’t think so but rather, the pacing of the previous episodes that came before this one. I guess I’m still adjusting the animosity they shared earlier that I can’t simply accept how fast it has been for them to be that close.

I mean, a few episodes ago, they just had their reunion and their ‘standing’ are totally different. A few episodes later and here we are, Asuna being dere-dere and all that. I guess this pacing would’ve been acceptable for me if there has been a proper buildup based on the previous episodes.

Next would be Sacchi. I have nothing against her and I guess her flashback was a proper way to trigger Kirito’s dual-wield mode but her re-appearance nowadays would automatically trigger ‘the fear of death’ which doesn’t really weigh that much since her death was rushed. I guess i’m too picky with this but giving a character’s death meaning would depend on how much viewers have invested themselves with that character. Seeing a character whom we have watched and supported for 10 episodes die would weigh much more than seeing a character getting killed in 1 episode.

Lastly, Asuna’s decision to leave. Again, the one to blame here isn’t this episode but the episodes that precede it. You know, her decision to leave/take a break from the guild, while being a sound choice, doesn’t really feel that she thought of her position as Vice Commander of KOB.

Now if you’re a gamer and you guys are planning on a Guild Raid then have one of your commanders suddenly go on leave, what would you feel? In the first place, why grant such position to an individual? The mere fact that Asuna is renowned for her skill and title means something yet we never actually saw her take on the role. It was said that she treats her members strictly yet we never saw that (aside from Kuradeel).

What happened to Asuna after her lowbie party with Kirito? What transformed her to have the respect she’s enjoying now? And likewise, was her decision to take a break really a good one basing on her standing?

Well, despite all my concerns, this episode was enjoyable. Kirito soloing and tanking a boss was cool and the Asuna moments were a treat. Seeing that noob army get pwnd was enjoyable and annoying (They are able to reach 70+ floors while continuing to be total retards?). And we finally get to see Heathcliff and the prelude to his duel with Kirito.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 22:50:07

    Like I said before, I feel this entire anime would do better to double the number of episodes and expand on the story and plot :p. At any rate, I still find myself struggling to really empathise with the characters well. It feels like the characters are shaped just for the plot. Take Asuna’s behaviour in this whole episode for example. It’s all over the map, depending on how they want to portray the situation so that Kirito can do his thing ^^;. Also that noob army? They feel more like AI/bots in my opinion, just to push the plot along.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 00:46:46

    It’s a pity that whoever is responsible for this adaptation is sucking it so bad. Well, reducing everyone to convenient plot devices may be an overstatement but that’s the reality of this series and we’ll be expecting more frustrations and facepalms as this progresses… Though I wonder, do they plan on covering the ‘other’ worlds of SAO or will they be using an anime original end?

    Reply

  3. x
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 01:40:49

    The animation, the art quality, the action, and the comedy works pretty well for me. The character portrayals are another matter ^^;. Well, whatever they do with this, I’ll probably watch till the end of this summer season. If I find too many to watch in the next season, I might drop this and pick something else up. Might start reading the novel at some point, though I’m not sure if this kind of plot is to my liking :p.

    Reply

  4. feal87
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 02:16:10

    It felt a bit “unnatural” to get Asuna’s sudden change from “I’m the badass vice leader” to the “poor woman in distress for Kirito to save”. I suppose that’s…just as planned…:D

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 02:21:38

    @feal

    Keikaku Doori… I guess -_-

    @X

    well, i’m trying to remind myself to watch this series for entertainment purposes but most of the time, the plot development reaaaally annoys me

    Reply

  6. Julia
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 07:00:20

    I’m very much enjoying this series, but I think it skipped forward too quickly. They’ve done a good job throwing in small things to explain the rules/world (the player kill episodes, the ragout rabbit, etc.), but you’re right that it totally left out what appears to have been a very long time of the relationship between Kirito and Asuna. I’m mostly watching for the action, though, and because the idea of living in a virtual fantasy game intrigues me.

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 11:35:26

    @Julia

    Action-wise, we have to say that it does have the rpg elements to it. The systematic combat and array of skills, not to mention, the survival tactics. If it only comes to those things then this series is doing a decent job. Also, the idea of living in a virtual death game, though it isn’t new in the industry, still creates that environment where the tensions could spike at any moment and I think that is one of the strong points of SAO. The downside is that these emotional stresses have never been adapted properly, killing off the potential of enjoying such a great series.

    Reply

  8. x
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 12:32:57

    @feal87

    Agreed. It feels unnatural. I wonder if this is part of the original material or just feels unnatural because the events are sped up and maybe some scenes were skipped.

    @Julia

    Yeah, the skipping is probably a big part what causing me to feel annoyed. As for the action, I wouldn’t mind more of it if they were willing to put in more episodes :p.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

