In the Kitchen!!

Make me a sandwich you say?

74 levels after two years. Goddamn! Doesn’t this series have IMBA players (points to Koreans)? Not my intention to be racist here but let’s face it, those guys are monsters when it comes to games. But well, I guess the pressure that SAO offers is not to be taken lightly. After all, unlike in most games where anyone can be courageous enough to do crazy shit in order to pull off miracles, one wrong slip in this game and you’ll be goners for good.

If cooking was only this easy IRL

That aside, I did like this episode. The balance between learning of how things are after two years and the battle animations are quite good. And yes, we also have tons on Asuna in this episode. From her cooking to her tsundere-ish tendencies, I have to say, her character is quite charming.

As for the combat, I feel that this series has been investing too much on the protagonists to actually explore other combat styles and weapon usage (such as maces and spears) which I find to be a shame. One of the merits of MMORPG is its option to create a character that fits your style. So I’ve been wondering if there have been notable players out there who would wield weapons other than swords and would like to see how they do in combat.

We’ve also seen some of the stats so far such as STR and AGI (from the previous episode) but i’m wondering if there could’ve been more. Aside from STR and AGI, could there also be VIT and LUK? Well, this game doesn’t use magics and spells so INT is out of the option and I don’t think this series has archers so DEX may also be out.

It took a long time before we see Kirito and Asuna again in combat and I have to hand it to them, they both have improved and seem to have polished their skills and specialties effectively. Seeing Asuna dodge and land effective blows while Kirito tanks and deal devastating ones is a nice play though I wonder if they are still able to do this once they engage the boss.

Oh and not to forget, danger still lurks under the shadows…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 03:37:56

    Much more enjoyable episode. Better focus. Better continuity (I hope). So finally we are in the “main story” so to speak. So why do I still feel it is too rushed? ^^;

    I guess it’s probably just me, but I find Asuna’s way of dealing with people rather off putting :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 15:32:18

    I don’t know how long the main story is and what other interesting parts it is meant to cover. Maybe it will detail things such as the Laughing Coffin guild and whatnot =/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

