A New Challenger Appears… or maybe not

I was actually hoping that Ranmaru was the new God of Misfortune. Turns out she’s just Ichiko’s human girl friend for this series.

I have to say, I didn’t quite like this episode. Not because of the typical parental issues that Ranmaru introduced, which hints of Ichiko’s own experiences, but by how Ichiko is still one annoying bitch.

Now I guess there’s nothing new with this. She IS a bitch but for some reason, her passing the blame on Ranmaru and winning her matches against her left a bad aftertaste. Maybe I’m just annoyed with the fact that unlike Keita who is capable of confronting her head-on and “not losing”, Ranmaru confronted Sakura Ichiko and lost. Momiji aside, I was hoping for Ranmaru to be someone like Ichicko’s equal. An individual that has the ability to go against Ichiko’s luck.

I’m not hoping for her to win every exchange with Ichiko but I was expecting her to be triumphant when it comes to ideals. Take for instance, Ichiko’s clash with Keita. While it’s clear that Ichiko would always win with her points and logic, that feeling of recognizing that she “lost” something provides a satisfying feeling that “hey, our protagonist isn’t that almighty despite her luck.”

Then again, Ranmaru did manage to land a blow against Ichiko by defending her father but for me, it still feels weak. Ah damn, I really don’t get it myself but this episode is fucking annoying!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 19:48:51

    Yeah, this one is really annoying, but there’s one thing I love about this episode though. I like how the three of them (well we can easily add Keita into the mix as well and make it four :p) are basically annoying girls (and guy). They are full of faults. Yet, they have some things about them that feels appealing (even if some would say it’s only superficially so ;)). They step over each other’s toes almost all the time, while supporting each other at the same time XD. Makes it rather hard for me to root for any of them, and yet hard to really hate any of them either.

    I believe the reason Ichiko annoys us the most, is probably because she has it good. It’s as if she suffers no consequences. She gets away with almost anything and everything, while others around her end up getting in trouble. It’s worst when she knows it well, and takes full advantage of it in ways that even some super-villains would find too despicable :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 21:34:08

    Spot on! Having Ichiko knows she has protagonist powers and is fucking everyone because she’s invincible grates my nerves. And so far, only Keita has been capable of going against that invincibility and inflict serious emotional wounds on her by making her realize stuff that she never had. Momiji is just taking her sweet time and Ranmaru isn’t really that much powerful.

    Now I wonder when that second God is coming or if ever he/she would make an appearance

    Reply

  3. x
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 00:05:41

    Well, I’m not going to say too much (or I’ll end up spoiling it :p), but there’s more to come ;). Personally, I felt that the introduction of Ranmaru felt a bit too rushed. Jam packing the story about her father in the second half of this episode here probably didn’t give the best impression possible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

