Totally Unexpected

At first I was like…

Then…

Well played bitches!!

The staff really outdid themselves in this episode. The pieces fell subtly into place that I found myself enjoying the moment of their respective interactions. Up til now, I was wondering how smooth the entire episode was. From Kaoru’s confession and his attempt to score one on Richan to Sentarou’s issues with his father.

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting any of this. The speculation I had last episode was thrown off by the events that unfolded in this one. In fact, the events in this episode was the reverse of what I expected. The possibility of Kaoru’s dad coming to get him/have him change locations cementing the Sentarou x Ritsuko pair was countered by that fact that it was Sentarou’s father who’d be coming to fuck things up.

Goddammit! One minute I was laughing my heart out at Kaoru’s fail effort then found myself troubled with Sentarou’s decision to leave them. Man, this episode was definitely well-made to be able to pull off a cohesive progression like this.

Two more episodes before this series ends. I have a feeling that the drama will level up over the last 2 episodes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 21:36:50

    Yeah, this episode was really good. Had me laughing too hard from the start, then towards the end hit me hard with the drama and implications of what might happen. Two more episodes to go, and the drama/tension level looks to get real high from now on. Hope this don’t make me cry at the end of this season (Fate/Zero alone will probably be more than enough).

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 23:24:40

    I don’t know if Fate Zero would even push me beyond my limits of shedding more manly tears. While I have to admit that I cried as I finished the visual novel of FSN, I can’t say the same with the anime adaptation.

    It all lies on how powerful the endings will be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

