Devoured by Darkness

I guess it's official that Black Rock Shooter is used to represent split personalities


Sentai Filmworks have being treading on unsteady ground ever since they decided to fuck up this series but episode 9 and 10 of Tasogare Otome has been quite pleasing. An anime original content portraying the shit that Yuuko went through, as a sacrifice, provided the answers that have been bugging me in the manga.

While I still believe that the manga experience will be different, I’d wallow in this development for the time being.

Ah~ The frailties of human nature. The transformation of Yuuko as the saint to Yuuko as the demon has been most enjoyable. While I admit that I raged at how she was decided to become a sacrifice, seeing her transformation as she realized how she was betrayed by her ideals gave me a different opinion with this series.

If anything, this showed the realistic human behavior of Kanoe Yuuko. The one which resembles more of a proper human being rather than a falsified personality who never go out of harms way when it comes to expressing herself.

Despite my complaints with how an episode is directed I have to give props to the style used in episode 10. I mean, the eerie atmosphere in that shrine definitely took its sweet time breaking Yuuko’s psyche, the hope that Yuuko held on to upon realizing that Asa and her sister won’t be harmed, then after looking at herself in the mirror, the reality dawning upon her that lead to her panic was a well directed sequence. It was really good.

With two episodes left and with the developments shown in this episode, I am hoping that things would get better especially if they plan on finishing this series with anime original content.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 06:38:51

    Sentai Filmworks? I know they licensed the series, but do they have influence in the production (confused)? Or do you mean Silver Link?

    I agree about episode 10. In almost all aspects, I’d say it is the best episode of this anime yet. Though Niiya’s constant annoying and unnecessary commentary felt completely out of place. Two more episodes to go. I have to admit that episode 9 and 10 does make this anime more worthwhile watching, but it doesn’t justify watching any of the earlier episodes :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 09:19:15

    I know they licensed the series, but do they have influence in the production (confused)? Or do you mean Silver Link?

    Oh… I’m not too keen about these things orz

    have to admit that episode 9 and 10 does make this anime more worthwhile watching, but it doesn’t justify watching any of the earlier episodes :p.

    The end doesn’t always justify the means but on the bright side, the episodes piqued our interest. I guess doing a proper adaptation is impossible considering there are no signs of maybe wanting to end the series =/

    Reply

  3. x
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 13:36:49

    Well, considering how it was when they adapt directly from the manga. And how much better it looks the moment they went into mostly anime original material. I’d rather they keep to anime original material :p.

    Still feel that this was the wrong director and studio for this material, but at least episode 9 and 10 showed that they can do better than the early episodes I guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

