Dealing with Devils

Despite the fact that my anime back log is piling up due to work-related issues, I had this weird urge to say something about this episode.

As expected, this episode will take us back to memory lane depicting Jonah’s back story and relationship with Koko’s brother, Kasper.

If there’s probably one thing that the Hekmatyars have in common, it’s definitely their balance of tenacity and comedy.

While it is evident that they both share a form of animosity with each other, I still find their relationship as siblings to be not ‘that’ bad as I initially expected.

What I was surprised though was how Kasper was directly involved with Jonah’s past and how the boy’s hatred with arms dealers were formed. In this regard, I would like to question Kasper’s motives for taking Jonah in as well as Koko’s for asking Kasper to let the boy be her bodyguard. That is to say, what are these two siblings plotting?

If these two treat their jobs simply as arms dealers, where does keeping a potentially good soldier as a bodyguard come in the equation?

From Valmet’s conversation with Lehm, I guess it’s her turn in the memory lane next episode.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    May 11, 2012 @ 05:44:33

    The rabbit tunnel seems much deeper than I thought it would be :). This anime has been a blast. More flashback episodes? Well, there are two seasons of this, so they can take their time to tell the story (unlike some other anime :p). Loving it so far.

    @baka~

    Hope you get a break at some point. Always sad to see you having such a huge back log :(.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 11, 2012 @ 22:04:06

    @X

    I can’t help it since my work requires me to travel far on a daily basis X_X

    But since I seem to be adjusting fine, hopefully i’ll be able to reschedule my gaming sessions and anime marathons XD

    Reply

  3. x
    May 12, 2012 @ 09:46:55

    @baka~

    Good to know you are adjusting fine :). I guess adding more anime to your schedule will be a bad idea. TWGOK just resumed with FLAG187. Ratman ch30 seems exciting. Wondering what your thoughts are about those two.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    May 12, 2012 @ 11:45:02

    @X

    I was annoyed by the sudden plot device after they rescued Mercury. Well, if the issue was suddenly resolved next episode without even showing one epic battle in Vintage’s base, I will be pissed.

    Ratman was good but the progression feels rushed to the point that my gut tells me that they don’t have any plans on having this series run any longer =/

    And let’s talk abot Denpa Kyoushi for a bit. The development there seems so unreal, way more rushed than Ratman that I can’t even tell if they plan on having that series run properly. The Otaku Teacher concept was amazing but it deviated from that path to something more absurd.

    Reply

  5. x
    May 12, 2012 @ 12:35:28

    @baka~

    Well, same here. If nothing is shown about the battle with Vintage, I’d be angry as well. I was somewhat disappointed that Keima’s part supposedly just ended for the night like that. With all the build up, I expected a little more.

    Yeah, Ratman feels rushed. I see it as trying to resolve the core story that was introduced in chapter one, to either end it, or to introduce a new part to the story after this.

    I always felt that Denpa Kyoushi had issues going farther than just a few chapters without ending up either being just another cliché weird teacher story, or just another pure comedy of the week thing. The recent direction seem more like this author’s style. I think it seems really absurd as well, but then I remember this author is the same one that brought us “Super-dreadnought Girl 4946” (which I found to have an interesting concept but not well executed for the most part). So I’m not surprised by this at all :p. I’d like to see the next few chapters before I comment more about the direction of this manga.

    Reply

  6. Aniplogs
    May 15, 2012 @ 19:59:32

    Damn! i missed a lot of episodes because of downloading Steins;Gate Can’t bear to watch anime in low quality

    Reply

Leave a Reply

