Saltwater Blues

While Mysterious Girlfriend X IS a better adaptation when compared with Tasogare Otome, the mere fact that Urabe Mikoto is a boring character helps in making me lose interest in the series.

I guess this is one of the flaws of having read the manga. Originally, the issues i’m expecting with adaptations is how faithful it is with the source material. But for some reason, this series, despite delivering by the book, just feels annoyingly boring.

I think Ayako Yoshitani is doing a good job in fleshing out Urabe’s character and I can’t blame her for how Urabe was made to be boring. I mean, her deadpan voice is fitting for Urabe’s character but the fact that the character itself leads this story with a boring attitude towards romance makes me lose interest.

At this point, I’m considering dropping this series since (1) I’ve already read (and is still reading) the manga and (2) I can’t stand watching another series lead by a one-dimensional, monotone character.

I don’t mean to offend anyone because of my 2nd statement but if we would compare Urabe Mikoto to Nagato Yuki (Haruhi) or even Furuya Mero (Sankarea) or even I’d choose Yuki and Mero with the reasons that (1) Yuki IS an alien and whatever she does results in something interesting especially around the protagonist (Kyon). (2) Mero is a side character and whatever she does gets easily ignored thanks to the overall progression of the story.

Lastly, I think this series is kinky and I see it as its overall uniqueness and strength. It may be boring for me but others may find delight in the odd things that Urabe and Tsubaki does.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. x
    May 07, 2012 @ 00:02:02

    The story in this episode had probably the most “normal” Urabe behaviour that I remember from the manga that I have read (some might even find it boring :p).

    I dropped the manga, so I’m interested to see if this anime will eventually go into unfamiliar territory for me (this is one cour right? At the current pace, maybe not). So far I’m enjoying it, though there’s a chance that the “weirdness” might turn me off eventually, like it did in the manga.

    Of course my ability to continue watching this anime might have more to do with the fact that I had low expectations for it in the first place, and was pleasantly surprised by how good it turn out to be. I guess it also helps that it has been a long while since I last read the manga (my memories of it are not so fresh) and I don’t have problems with one-dimensional, monotone characters as long as they are well portrayed XD. I find it entertaining enough to watch, though there are many more entertaining anime this season that easily surpass it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

