Larger Than Life

This episode was amazing in so many ways that I don’t even know where to begin.

Alright, let’s start it off with my most favorite topic…

Was that really Junichi Suwabe singing in English? I have my doubts but if he really did that piece then it’s damn surprising to hear him speak the language so fluently.

They were right about life being similar to jazz. Who would’ve thought Jun and Yurika would get to be interested with each other? And what about Sentarou?

Kaoru was surprisingly bold all-throughout this episode. I don’t know what the fuck motivated him but I was surprised that not only was he able to converse more casually with Sentarou, much to the others’ astonishment, but to actually steal a kiss from Ritsuko.

Now I understand that one does not simply steal a kiss but you have to give Kaoru some credit. From being a wuss that’s easily bullied to someone who actually developed balls and go grabbing some free smooches. This development is rushed but I don’t seem to mind.

I also liked the fact that he was able to confront Sentarou about his feelings. Well, most of it. If anything, how he’s able to realize and grow up in such an episode felt contrived but as I mentioned, I don’t seem to mind, since this may be a foreshadowing of a lot of events that would unfold later on.

I did relish in his fuck-ups though c/o his misunderstandings. Kaoru is a well-thought character in the sense that he is not as decent as he’s supposed to be. He IS an asshole for acting high and mighty and despite taking on the stereotype dweeb protagonist, he is someone who can surprisingly handle people. Well, we do have to thank Sentarou for that change.

Of course, there’s also that revelation on how Kaoru and Sentarou are similar in having experienced rejection and how Sentarou had it hard during his youth.

To think that this episode attacked multiple relationships and boosted character developments so subtly, I have to admit, this was impressive. Can’t wait to see how things unfold next episode.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. x
    May 06, 2012 @ 03:11:12

    This might become my favourite anime this season. Despite being more than a bit rushed, the plot and the character portrayals are very compelling. Combined with the music, the mood, the details and the story itself, I can’t help but love it :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

