Where Interests and Boredom Intersect


I guess the spice of this series comes from the fact that Oreki is a boring protagonist. He whines and hates to make an effort and for some reason, it rubs on me. From a perspective, this series is totally eye-candy with a content not worth giving a fuck. But the thing is, if I would compare this with Tasogare x Otome, i’d prefer to waste time on this series. Not only is this visually stimulating, the random school mysteries makes sense. I’m not saying that the mysteries ARE interesting. In fact, the mysteries aren’t even material worth giving fuck about. But Oreki’s deduction draws me in. This may not be a murder which involves reasoning to define the culprit but the act of driving to a conclusion is pretty much this show’s glimmer.

Not that I can totally relate to the cases presented so far but I bet some of us came to a point, during our student days, where we would often wonder “why is this guy borrowing the same book?” or “who locked the door?” or “whose playing the piano?” I mean, reading the stuff that I just wrote, who gives a fuck to these questions anyway? These are simple mysteries that could hardly affect the lives of a normal, apathetic student but what Hyouka does is take it and shape it into something more interesting. And it just fucking works.

This may not be KyoAni’s greatest but for this season, it may be worthwhile.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    May 02, 2012 @ 16:26:09

    Yeah, this is definitely better than Tasogare x Otome. Only thing I felt uncomfortable with this one were the eyes. They feel scary. But that’s just KyoAni (I had similar problems with almost all other anime that I’ve watched from KyoAni XD). In Hyouka, it’s mostly Chitanda’s eyes ;). It feels like she can look into my soul (through the screen I’m watching) and will cut me to pieces if she finds anything she doesn’t like :p.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 02, 2012 @ 17:45:44

    ” It feels like she can look into my soul”

    don’t summon Kyubey -_-

    but if there’s personally something I like about KyoAni, it’s how they make the eyes. Well, seeing it glitter or something is over the top but I think it’s what makes it so mesmerizing

    Reply

  3. x
    May 03, 2012 @ 02:42:57

    @baka~

    No!!!! No Kyubey!!! Please!!! XD

    I was being sarcastic about the eyes :p. There’s a lot to love about this anime. I wonder if there will be some romance elements to the story. That would be nice with KyoAni art ;).

    Reply

  4. Aniplogs
    May 03, 2012 @ 16:02:40

    Hyouka should be dubbed as “Slice-of-life-mystery” those mysteries that they solved are cool but not that overly cool. The only thing that makes me watch it is the awesome art and animation 🙂 And I just hope that episode 3 is the start of something big

    Reply

  5. x
    May 04, 2012 @ 01:46:07

    @Aniplogs

    In almost any mystery story, it’s not so much that the mysteries are cool that makes it good, it’s the way the mysteries are presented that matters the most. In this particular anime, the main character interactions spice things up a bit. Regardless of how big or small the next mystery will turn out to be from our perspective, I bet Chitanda will be able to make something big out of it; and Oreki will be dragged along kicking and screaming; but eventually try to solve it with the least amount of effort he can think of :p. Since I doubt this is going to be drama piece, I hope there will be some twists and turns along the way to keep it interesting.

    Reply

  6. baka~
    May 04, 2012 @ 21:58:27

    @X

    ” I bet Chitanda will be able to make something big out of it; and Oreki will be dragged along kicking and screaming; but eventually try to solve it with the least amount of effort he can think of :p”

    Sounds like Haruhi except of the fact that Chitanda IS NOT acting like an annoying bitch… THANK GOD!!

    Reply

  7. x
    May 04, 2012 @ 23:24:21

    @baka~

    Agreed. Thank God! XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

