BLASPHEMY!!


MY GOD! This episode had so many unnecessary plot devices that’s best left explored at each of their respective arcs/mysteries. But first off, why the fuck did it deviate completely from the chronological progression of the manga? Despite the mysteries being episodic and would be actually convenient to string together in no particular fashion, the flow at which the manga progressed made sense. I’m saying this not because I favor the manga but because the progression in the manga helped develop what the club does which is lacking in this series.

I don’t know, but let’s compare the progression of this series so far with BokuTomo or say, any other anime with “clubs” such as K-On! Usually, said clubs would HAVE TO DO SOMETHING CLUB RELATED before the summer/training camp episode. Most of the time, these are side stories that have little to no effect to the main plot progression but this series, after establishing the characters into forming a group, now decides to skip their activities and go ahead with a training camp.

Even during my previous employments, I have yet to see a company that invited me to go outing the moment I started working at the office. Usually it would take months before such an event happens but this series clearly bypassed all that.

I don’t know if it’s animation style or direction but the above scenes just felt weird. First, is that supposed to be the window pane’s shadow over Kirie’s face? It sure looks unnatural. Second, could there be really such a flight of stairs in a school? I don’t know about Japanese architecture but almost every slice of life anime that deals with schools and students doesn’t have such a long flight of stairs.

Ah dammit, I’m not thinking straight than usual. I guess I shouldn’t have watched this series last among the list of my anime backlog.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:58:40

    This was the worst episode so far in my opinion. Worst than most of the C3 episodes even. It felt like they were packing everything they could in one episode, and as I mentioned before, the art and animation are seriously getting on my nerves. Some people excuse the art saying it’s the “style” of this studio and that the colours make is what makes the “special”. Personally, I find it just badly done. I don’t know who’s the one at studio who seem to think that these psychedelic colours should be all over any anime they produce, but the colours are really distracting when it has nothing to do with the story or the mood of the scene. Almost like I’m on LSD or something.

    Why are many of the action scenes reduced to just cheap replacements? They seem to be purely using colours to express emotions, like a cheap way to cut down on animation work, and it isn’t always clear what the colours are supposed to represent. Why is there suddenly a green light shining from nowhere? What’s that suppose to mean? Why do the colours keep changing inexplicably? It doesn’t seem to set the right mood for the scenes. The brightness of the scenes change without any reason from shot to shot. A night scene can suddenly look like a day scene in a split second. An outdoor scene turns purplish all of a sudden for no reason. Skin colour changes, making them look like chameleons who can’t seem to adapt to the background.

    It seems like they either make a joke of the creepy scenes or try to rush the scenes out of the way so that they can get to the comedy parts. As for the plot, I’m probably wrong, but the impression I get from this episode is that they are trying to rush past everything they want to use from the manga so that they can chart their own direction towards an anime original ending.

    I really don’t want to drop this. I love the voice work, I think it’s well done. However, if things get any worst with the art, animation and storytelling, I’m not sure I’ll have the patience to watch this any more.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 02, 2012 @ 17:54:01

    Totally everything you ranted about man. And it’s not just the color but how the animation does itself. I’m no technical about this but take for instance the stairs image posted above. Aside from it looking green, why waste an entire frame showing only an image on the left side. Not only this, but previous episodes as well.

    There are frames where they could’ve added in more detail but refused to do so and combine that with suck colors and the mood seems to die down. It’s hard to determine if they want it to be creepy or lighthearted feel due to Yuuko’s cheerful personality.

    I have this belief that no matter how bad a story is, a good seiyuu cast will be able to carry it but to be honest, I don’t know anymore. In the first place, Tasogare Otome is a series I have read and fell in love with. So even before there were voices, its story has kept me glued to it as well as its art but now that I have seen the anime adaptation and how unfaithful it has been, animation and story-wise, I don’t know anymore. This may even be an anime original setting for all I care. I do hope that the manga series won’t end after this adaptation does.

    Reply

  3. x
    May 03, 2012 @ 04:46:17

    @baka~

    Yeah, I hope the manga will continue as well. Complains about the art and animation aside, it’s ironic that I expected this anime to do better than Sanka Rea, even though I had trouble with the work from this studio and director combination before. I just thought that at least with a simpler story, fewer characters, there would be less to mess up (unlike in C3). With both the creepy elements and the comedy elements as selling points, I even thought it could do well enough for me to not complain too much :p. Instead, Sanka Rea ended up being much more compelling than I anticipated, while this is almost becoming a parody of the manga, as it seem to rush through the story while pandering the comedy and mess up the creepy scenes.

    Reply

  4. x
    May 08, 2012 @ 04:30:46

    After watching episode five, I’ve come to the conclusion that this is a parody of the manga and not a serious adaptation of it. It pick and choose parts of the manga that will be comedic and make everything else a joke. I’ll probably still watch it for now, but only as a comedy anime with little substance. I’ll drop it once I find myself getting tired watching too many anime (any day now :p).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

