The Agony of Inferiority

I don’t know about you guys but this is one damn good character development. I guess the strength of this episode’s appeal would come from the fact that I have experienced and handled such skepticism myself. Not just limited to Haruyuki’s dilemma of being treated nicely. From where he’s coming from, I have to say that every part of his argument and reason for reducing himself as a tool and even his doubts and misinterpretations of Kuroyuki’s intentions are legit.

This mindset could’ve only come from someone deprived of the kindness of others for so long that he’s still cautious of the development he’s experiencing. First was the Brain Burst then having a beautiful, perfect ally in need of his services.

Perhaps some might even be pissed at Haruyuki for such mindset but for someone who stands and sees at a similar perspective, the world, in general, does not treat those with such physique so kindly.

Unlike Haruyuki though, from the perspective of a viewer, I think this form of infatuation that Kuroyuki is experiencing may hardly come to the levels of “love”. If anything, this is simply her admiration and desire of someone who is capable of achieving feats beyond hers. Whether or not it is her intention to sugarcoat such intentions into feelings of “love” or they are truly genuine emotions, we have yet to find out.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 01:34:10

    This was the most compelling episode yet in my opinion. I think Kuroyuki’s initial reaction to Haruyuki saying “You hate yourself, right?” probably revealed a lot more about her than many have realised. Though Haruyuki later got his reasoning wrong, but there’s probably some truth to that particular statement.

    As for Kuroyuki’s genuine emotions? That’s hard to say. After all, how much does it take to fall in love ;)? There is one thing that will definitely pull Kuroyuki to him. Haruyuki probably looked like someone who would never hurt her (though this episode proved that to be not entirely true ;)). Given what we know about her from the previous episode, I bet she found it really hard to trust anyone who even has the potential to hurt her. It’s hard to say how much she “loves” him, but I’m willing to give her the benefit of doubt.

    I love how they animated the frozen car in mid air and had the pig avatar inspect it. There were lots of other animation details that surprised me as well. The physics stuff (about the Physical Full Burst) is all nonsense of course, but the sacrifice was compelling for me. The portrayal of Haruyuki waiting in the hospital was nicely done. Loved the way the entrance of Takumu to hospital was done. Probably the most exciting episode for me so far, despite having a minimal amount of action XD.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 13:01:52

    @X

    “Probably the most exciting episode for me so far, despite having a minimal amount of action XD.”

    I never thought about it not until you mentioned it. I guess I was more focused on Haru’s self-evaluation and Kuroyuki’s sacrifice but the cliffhanger where Haru notices something amiss and challenges Taku before he got the chance to steal Kuroyuki’s points was exciting alright and evident on how quick his mind picks up despite his slow physique.

    Reply

  3. x
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 21:41:34

    @baka~

    Yeah, that had me on the edge of my seat :). Speaking of Haru’s self-evaluation, that “I’m such a horrible person” made me smile. Reminded me of more “innocent” days I had when I was younger. I find it funny how many complain about Haru’s portrayal, when he is probably one of the most realistic protagonist in a school setting I’ve seen in anime. I mean compared to say a character like Ichika from Infinite Stratos (who annoy me to no end) or even Issei from DxD (whom I find hilarious), Haru’s thinking and behaviour seem much more believable for me. Then again, maybe I just identify with Haru a lot more ;).

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 22:18:27

    I think when compared to common protagonists who start strong backed up with a visible, sociable personality, Haru is definitely an anomaly to the common protagonist template.

    To name a few, he’s no attention seeker like Naruto, isn’t that sociable or a chick magnet like Ichika (I.S.), doesn’t dream of living in a harem or acts haughtily like Keima (Kaminomi), He doesn’t even look pleasing despite an emo like, for instance, Squall (FF8) or is a candid dumb guy like Akihisa (Baka to Test). To an extent, he is more reminiscent of Hirano Kouta from (HotD) without any sniping skills which is another anomaly from the common protagonist template.

    I guess the reason why some are unsatisfied with Haru is because he is simply someone who reflects a real individual more than the common protagonist. I mean, some would even ask “why watch an anime if it reminds you of your powerlessness? isn’t the purpose of anime to entertain by making me forget that I am weak?” or perhaps, something along those lines.

    Reply

  5. x
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 22:39:51

    @baka~

    If that is true, they seem to run away from their own selves more than I do (and I do run away a lot :p). I see Haru as a character more realistically portrayed to remind me (or maybe allow me to fantasise XD) that even the seemingly unattractive, weak and timid have an interesting story to tell. Sometimes the unattractive, weak and timid can be the protagonist if given a chance ;). At least that’s the way I see it :).-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

