NOW THIS IS WIN!!

I don’t know if this is how it was delivered but the good thing with gg subs is that they always do over-the-top subbing.

The hypocrisy and mentality in this episode is so annoying that I was actually relieved to have Gazelle do the unexpected and stand for Ao. I don’t know what kind of shit he has been doing but I believe that his deals with the military of whatever during the previous episodes reflect on how he look poorly on the native life of simply living each day asking for change yet not dedicating oneself for such a cause.

Props to you shirt guy!

Gazelle aside, I have to give props to Ao for this unexpected character development. I don’t know whether his resolution to defend felt rushed but his answer on not wanting to regret is a good one. Besides, he still have his gramps and his childhood friend with lame voice acting so yeah. All the reason to gear up and kick ass.

I’m not that familiar with Eureka Seven but I have to wonder if Ao is Renton and Eureka’s child and what really happened to Eureka 10 years ago that she fell from the sky pregnant and had to leave Ao a few years after he was born. That aside, I really felt sad seeing this picture. The flashbacks last episode hinted how much it must’ve been for Eureka to be shunned by society and how she had to hide herself by dying her hair black. In the end, this gave me an impression that this island and its natives are much more cruel than perceived. I mean, rescuing a pregnant mother so that she can be blamed for their misfortune and whatshit and passing that blame to her innocent child. Talk about a retarded bunch.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 18:18:27

    It’s stereotyping the islanders and the older generation :p. Though there is some truth to it, but it feels a little over the top. Though I do understand it is just trying to make a point of a polarised conflict. Having said that, I think I’m beginning to like this anime a tiny bit (it’s more enjoyable that Lagrange last season for one). Still not sure about the kiddy glove feel I gets from the story, but I’ll ignore that for now XD.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 18:29:48

    Well, there’s typically nothing new from a protagonist shunned by society. Such has been a formula of other, more famous series. Take for instance, Naruto. What I did like though is how they laid detail of Ao’s past in order to drive to a resolution where he decides to fight. For me, the development was fitting to draw out the intended effect.

    Reply

  3. x
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 21:58:06

    @baka~

    Yeah, I like that development as well. It’s much more convincing than some other shounen series where the protagonist’s reason for fighting seem vague or obscured.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

