Medaka Box!


One of the series that I was expecting to be animated for a long time! Medaka Box is created by Nisio Isin, the same genius who did Bakemonogatari and Nisemonogatari. As such, the manga, and this faithful anime adaptation, IS dialogue-heavy and filled with a ton of absurdities which would, by Nisio Isin standards, often translate themselves to serious moments of GAR.

I was skeptical after I checked the seiyuu cast for this series but I never thought Aki Toyosaki to portray Kurokami Medaka so clearly. Her voice reflects the main character’s strength and appeal and considering how illogical and demanding while maintaining a straight face Medaka is, I believe Aki’s voice was remarkable as Kurokami Medaka. I think I got used too much in hearing her cutesy voice, well she did voice Inga from (Un-Go) but I think her take as Medaka is nothing I have heard before… That or I’m getting deaf =/

As for Zenkichi, no offense but any male character that can whine is perfect for him… Except maybe for Sugita. His voice would probably ruin Zenkichi’s image in my mind.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 05:20:11

    The OP feels rather old school, in a good way. Fan service in the first episode, not that I wasn’t expecting it, but it still surprised me somewhat with the way it was handled. Overall, this looked better than I expected so far. Given that I enjoyed the manga when it started (only lost interest halfway through the Flask Plan arc), this is me giving this story a second chance I guess.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 11:28:50

    Well, Medaka IS, more or less, an exhibitionist so I think it won’t be long before people get immune to this anime’s fanservice. To be honest, after reading too much of the manga, the fanservice doesn’t mean shit anymore especially during the later arcs.

    Reply

  3. x
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 12:16:38

    @baka~

    Yeah, the fan service doesn’t bother me much. Otherwise I wouldn’t be touching any adaptation of Nisio Isin’s works at all XD. It just surprised me how it was handled. Also, since this is Nisio Isin, fan service mean nothing when his mind/word/tongue twister distractions go full force :p. I just hope I wouldn’t lose interest halfway through like I did with the manga… ^^;

    Reply

Leave a Reply

