Derf

You know, for a boring anime this season, Derf’s death definitely got my attention. I mean, he has been Saito’s best buddy ever since season 1. He accompanied him in his battles and gave him the most useful advice and to see him die in the line of duty is definitely one of the most honorable yet tragic event that occurred for this anime. His death was more epic than the pope imo.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 00:25:11

    I get the impression the pope and Derf died in the same scene for the sole purpose of contrasting their characters. Though I get that Derf is portrayed as a much better character than the pope in the story, I think if one is to be objective about it, both did contribute their all and sacrificed themselves. Not saying that I like the pope as a character :p. That guy always gave me a bad impression XD. I’m guessing that that this is going to be another anime original ending? Not that many episodes left. Sigh, looks like I can’t avoid picking up the novel if I want to know the original story…

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 00:50:06

    At this point, I don’t really mind how this series would end… I just wanted it to end.

    ZnT was a decent anime when it started but prolonged adaptations of the novel turned out quite poor especially when promoting character development which has been this series’ flaw due to insufficient understanding of how each character acts and why. Heck, even I don’t know what purpose the elemental siblings serve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

