When good mangas end with a wtfsauce


For a manga with so much potential of being an amazing love-comedy genre, I really disliked how this simply ended with such a manner inconclusive to Harisugawa’s story. The art designs are amazing and the formula for creating a right romantic chemistry is there, but I guess I can’t blame the author for lacking any more ideas to continue this.

Really, I find it to be a waste for such an inappropriate end.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 08:47:12

    I really hate to say this, since I really admire Kano for the work he has done so far. After thinking awhile about how all his manga had ended, I think he really sucks at ending his works. Also, with this particular manga (at least), he didn’t seem to have a workable alternative plan ready in case the plot he intended was not popular enough. That’s rather surprising for someone who has so much experience at this. The message at the end of the epilogue probably show his state of mind: “I’m terribly sorry, but I do not plan on continuing this comic in any kind of fashion” ^^;. Hope he does better next time, but I loath to read another ending coming from this author, regardless of whether the manga gets cancelled or not.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 21:59:10

    I think i would’ve been better if he collaborated with someone that can actually produce a proper story with continuity. His artworks are good and draws the attention of perverts readers but his story is a trap especially once it reaches the end.

    Reply

  3. x
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 18:11:41

    Well, I like his quirky stories, just not how he ends them :p. They never seem to go anywhere. Seems like even when he has no intention of continuing, he just does not want to give some kind of conclusion to his works. Collaborations are tricky as well. I hope he finds a way to improve this, though I’m beginning to have doubts if he ever will. Some have said that he should try with a different magazine, but I think his problem is with the way he view his stories. It doesn’t matter which magazine he goes to. It will end up being the same. He seems to start off okay, then stumbles at some point later. What’s most frustrating for me is how he seem to effortlessly create a non-ending even when he got the core premise of his story to conclude. All while claiming that he “do not plan on continuing”…. ^^;

    Reply

Leave a Reply

