The Season That Was 2011 (part 2)

Leaving 2011 with, more or less, a bang, doesn’t seem so reassuring now that the next season’s anime is just around the corner

Working!

Despite being a generic anime, there’s something that makes Working very much refreshing. It’s not just the plot-less story that alleviates all thought of cohesive progression, it’s also about the insane characters as well as the relationships that they establish with one another and how it dynamically affects their workplace and their personal lives. Not to forget, this anime does have a powerful, professional seiyuu cast so I think it’s also a factor that made this anime quite enjoyable despite its ordinary features.

Ben-To

For me, there’s no enjoyable bullshit this season other than Ben-To. Until now, I still find it absurd to put your life on the line just to purchase half-priced food but this anime tries its hardest to convince me. By connecting such unorthodox relationships with food and real life, for the most part, this anime had me convinced. The only downside is that it got repetitive. The moral values taught over and over has grown out on me and to be honest, it didn’t appeal that strongly as when I first enjoyed Ben-To. Not to forget the uncalled for, gratuitous amount of protagonist-hate that this anime has. In every motherfucking opportunity, this anime tries to beat Satou up. Either by Shiraume’s bitch slaps, encountering a new, overpowered “boss”, his “girlfriends” fucking up his life, his food, or his sega, or just Oshiroi’s yaoi rape scenarios. Seriously, this anime is pretty much abusive and to be honest, if it weren’t for the moral values potentially taught each day, I would’ve dropped this anime after Monarch’s arc.

Still, seeing through the end, it was worthwhile. While I do not recommend rewatching this shit, it was one of the decent anime from the past season.

And so they left us with something more to expect… While I am not overly thrilled by this second season due to the complexity of this anime when it comes to its terminology and story setting, I think i’ll be quite lenient and give it a shot. Assuming my schedule is as lenient as it was during the previous seasonal anime.

Overall, I don’t think this anime ended up as a complete failure. It was enjoyable and the characters’ antics did prove fairly amusing and to be honest, I’m looking forward to the hardships that they’ll be facing as they collect more of the Armaments of Deadly Sins.

And that’s about it for this Anime Fall 2011, i’ll be enjoying some partying and “arrow to the knee” moments before I motivate myself to review next season’s (winter 2012) anime… Assuming the Mayan’s are wrong and we can still enjoy the bulk of 2012. Happy New Year EVERYONE!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 21:17:16

    Happy New Year! 🙂

    I guess I need to find time to give Horizon another shot.

    Agree with you about Ben-To. I won’t watch it ever again (probably won’t even consider watch a sequel if they ever decide to make one), but it had moments where it was brilliant.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 22:35:44

    X!! (Advance) Happy New Year Man!!

    I think you shouldn’t spend so much time with Horizon or rather, get out while you still can (much like Gandalf’s warning when one wanders around 9gag for the 1st time). It’s decent but I don’t think it’s worth much of our time. For me, I really love completing something that I started… Unless I dropped that anime or just got fed up with it.

    Reply

  3. Keiri
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 13:14:17

    Happy New Year, baka~!

    And here I am emerged from some hole again somewhere (no) thanks to even more work piled up over Christmas and New Year because everyone was in too much of a holiday/dating mood to be functional in the office. orz

    Well… I must admit I had been watching quite a bit of live TV and listening to radio as well, and had been irresponsibly neglecting my blogging duties as a result (if only I could record/download the shows :s) which is probably a strong sign that my days of episodic blogging is imminently coming to an end. Ah well.

    Anyway, best wishes to you and may your year be filled with nice crazies! 😀

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 21:31:53

    thanks to even more work piled up over Christmas and New Year because everyone was in too much of a holiday/dating mood to be functional in the office. orz

    I understand the feeling… Even my company decided to stop authorizing any leaves before and after the new year in order to finish deadlines x_x

    which is probably a strong sign that my days of episodic blogging is imminently coming to an end. Ah well.

    oi oi! don’t say something ominous man! you’re my only source of to aru fandom as well as another invaluable source of seiyuu updates and I seriously miss dropping by your site to troll especially during to aru seasons >_<

    anyways, I wish you good health this new year keiri… I hope we can both survive our jobs and hectic schedules x_x

    Reply

  5. x
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 00:12:55

    @baka~

    Okay, I won’t touch Horizon then XD.

    So with a new year comes a new season with new anime :p. Have any anime caught your attention? This season should be a less packed, unlike the previous one. Though I suppose it doesn’t really help with hectic schedules…

    Reply

  6. feal87
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 04:21:18

    Horizon ftw!!! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

