The Season That Was 2011 (part 1)

With a lot of anime ending this season, I’ll be taking this opportunity to look back and review those that I took time to watch, my general impressions on them all and what turned out to be more than my expectations.

UN-GO

This anime has crisp visuals, a catchy OP and ED song, and decent BGM. The seiyuu cast is fairly decent but I think this anime never stood out much for the reason that its competitors are decent powerhouses themselves. I don’t think Un-Go’s story is bad. If anything, the post-apocalyptic struggle of unveiling the “truth” amidst the conspiracy theories that revolved around such a time of war is pretty much interesting. Splash in a bit of supernatural on the side and Un-Go did come out pretty well. It was interesting, it was enjoyable, and even though the mystery element as well as the detective features were not that extraordinary, I still liked how this anime turned out. Too bad I have yet to watch the prologue movie that narrates Inga and Shinjuurou’s meeting and how they ended up with each other.

Fansub Group: Horrible Subs

Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai

THE fanservicey anime this season. From the FAPPABLE art designs to the godlike seiyuu cast, this anime is indeed one of my favorites. The downside is that the story isn’t really that appealing in the long run. Or perhaps, it’s because I read parts of the manga that I became pretty bored with this anime =|

Fansub Group: Mazui

Fate Zero

The fuck was that ending?! Having to wait for 4 months just to continue watching the series IS a cocktease but if they can promise to deliver quality animation most of the time (I know this series did have episodes with noticeable animation drop) then I guess it’s worth it. Besides, starting season 2 with a bang IS a welcome opener imo especially after how Fate/Zero viewers WILL BE (most likely) thirsty for heated action after the long wait. Another hour of epicness like in episode 1? COUNT ME IN!!

Fansub Group: Commie

Mawaru Penguindrum

THE troll series for 2 seasons. With a lot of symbolisms and whatshit scattered per episode, it’s actually hard (for me) to keep up and notice any distinct hints that would help me understand this anime. It was, more or less, enjoyable but sometimes, things just doesn’t make sense and I think this is one of the factors that would make people lose interest. Perhaps, given a different set of audience with a penchant for undermining clues and hints and understanding what shit means, Mawaru Penguindrum would’ve appealed properly to such viewers. Overall, the only bad thing with this anime is the realization of the troll. Other than that, I say it’s decent enough to watch.

Fansub Group: GG Fansubs

And there you have it. Hopefully, I get to download and watch the final episode of Working, Kyoukai Senjo no Horizon, and Ben-To in order to wrap things neatly. ‘Til then, Season’s Greetings!!!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 01:31:33

    This season was trolling paradise man, just resign yourself to the trolls…:P

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 02:49:37

    damn… you talk as if you lost all hope feal O_O

    Reply

    • feal87
      Dec 26, 2011 @ 22:36:22

      I have lost all hopes! That ending of Fate Zero was a bit too much…:P

      Reply

      • baka~
        Dec 26, 2011 @ 22:40:16

        Feal, let’s face it, this season has the least amount of lolis present and I believe you’re just having withdrawal symptoms of NOT making a contract…

        That being said, is the next season chart up already?

  3. x
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 21:33:30

    @feal87 it’s not that bad, if one isn’t too picky :p

    @baka~
    UN-GO was okay. The early episodes (specially the first one) were just a mess. It gradually improved, and the final episode was one of the best mystery I’ve watched in a while. It needed to be longer.

    Hanagai is just about right. I would have gotten bored if they had continued any further. I doubt I want to watch a second season of this :p.

    Fate/Zero was one of the anime I anticipated the most almost every week. After watching the last episode, I guess I can’t say that I would not watch the second season. How can I leave it hanging like that? XD

    You know my feelings about Penguindrum very well by now. Not going to comment anymore :p.

    Working was fun. I gave up on Horizon real early. Ben-To turn out to be not really my thing. Season’s Greetings!

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 22:36:58

    While not purely a pedophile, I DO relate myself with Takanashi A LOT, making me stick through with Working’s antics. That and we also have the Jun x Yachiyo pairing that I look forward to.

    And while Horizon was too hard to comprehend, throwing all that rubbish about how their world works, Horizon turned out to be a bit enjoyable. Still meh, more or less, but honestly, this anime felt better than penguindrum… despite their commonality of “who what huh?”

    Season’s greetings X!!

    Reply

  5. x
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 23:35:58

    @baka~

    Yeah, Yachiyo pairing is fun despite being one of the characters that annoyed me initially XD. Takanashi is a fun character as well, quirks and all that. I can’t really hate any of the characters on the show, despite their faults. Working turned out to be more fun than I anticipated. I didn’t watch the first season when it aired, only marathon it after getting recommendations. Have been hooked ever since.

    As for Horizon, I think part of the reason I dropped it early was because I didn’t want a repeat of Penguindrum XD. I suspected that I dropped it too early, but there were too many other anime I was watching this season as well. Missed opportunities I guess.

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 23:55:44

    Horizon isn’t really THAT good but it was entertaining and the straightforward nonsense is something more bearable than Penguindrum which trolled for 24 episodes… between two evils, always pick the lesser one… I guess. :p

    Reply

  7. x
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 02:26:31

    @baka~

    Well, I’m wondering if I should have stayed with Horizon for a while longer, instead of watching “mostly wasted efforts” like Maken-ki or to a lesser extent C3. I get the impression that Horizon turned out better than those two combined.

    Horizon still has a promised second season, I wonder if I’ll want to watch that… I guess I might end up doing a marathon with the first season, if I do want to watch the second season. Still not sure if it’s worth the trouble…

    Reply

  8. Valence
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 10:48:41

    wait fate/zero will have a season 2?

    ._.

    Reply

    • x
      Dec 27, 2011 @ 16:28:22

      Yep, around three to four months from now, it will continue. The last episode of season one was a huge cliffhanger after all XD. Many fans were not exactly happy that the season ending episode was like that. I can’t imagine how they will feel if the entire series really ended with that :p

      Reply

  9. cybersteel
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 18:00:41

    nice memes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

