The Downhill Slide


I really though that Ben-To was a witty anime but after Monarch’s arc, everything went down. There’s nothing interesting anymore. Sure, there are a ton of laughs and what-not but when I realize it, it’s doing nothing more than to humiliate Satou and make his life more miserable. Sure, he did power up over his previous encounters and he did learn a lot but in the end, it all comes down to him being abused by women.

Shiraume’s sadism aside, there’s Shaga who teases him 24/7, going as far as asking him to be wrapped up like a mummy and even Yarizui who decided to make amends by having her share half her bento despite being the reason why he’s put in the hospital in the first place.

I mean, WTF?! You hospitalize a person and the least that you can do is share your boxed lunch?! Sure, Ben-To didn’t intend to make sense in the first place but seriously, an anime that makes the protagonist look bad all the time with no proper reason doesn’t make sense. Well, Working! might fall along these lines but its advantage over Ben-To is that it has a good array of characters to side with. Every character interaction with Working! has a dynamically better chemistry than with Ben-To where only the main character receives the butt of the jokes.

That is to say, I am disappointed. I think it would’ve been better if they extended the arcs to cover more but I guess this is how Ben-To rolls. Well, it was fun while it lasted but seeing how it fairs now, it sure is beginning to suck.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 03:52:16

    Well, this is the one part about this anime that I never liked, protagonist abuse. At least this week he wasn’t abused as bad as some of the other episodes. I still think it is entertaining enough to continue watching. Though my expectations have always been and continues to be very low for this one. I wouldn’t compare it with Working. I’d probably compare it with Haganai. Though I find Haganai unbearable at times, overall it is better than this one. I suppose this is your “Sacret Seven” for this season :p ?

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 23:19:52

    Well, I am also against protagonist abuse but I have been forgiving this anime since it offers valuable and cheesy bullshit back then. Now that the moral of the story seem repetitive, I have to apologize for changing leaf now that I’m beginning to notice the painful endeavors of Satou.

    Well, I really can’t compare this to Haganai since there hasn’t really been any hints of protagonist abuse (if we’re talking about Kodaka) but when it comes to a deeper evaluation of morals and fanservice, i’d prefer Haganai over Ben-To. Take for instance episode 8 of Haganai where kodaka realizes how Yozora still refuses to go out of her shell, even going as far as to abandon the group. Haganai may be nonsense most of the time but it has its episodic share of morality (or whatever’s left of it)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

