Making ends meet


Fate/Zero has retreated back to its drawing board, covering character development and shifting perspectives instead of solid visual goodness which emanates from its fight scenes which is a good change of pace, implying that each takes this issue of war seriously and not everyone is careless enough to slip up and make mistakes lest they fuck themselves over like with Kayneth.

While I truly despise kayneth for being a dick through and through, I have to say that he was pitiful when he realized the damaged caused to him by Kiritsugu. His moment of underestimating him caused him greatly, forcibly cutting off all his ties with anything related to magic and even forcing to resign his command of Lancer to Sola which obviously is a bitch in heat because of Lancer’s mole.

Now I don’t know if Lancer was a womanizer back in his time or if its his mole’s fault that he eventually got killed by his leader but whatever. All throughout the war, he seemed to have good intentions. It’s just that he seems to be fate’s favorite fuck toy, messing up his dreams of properly serving as a knight by throwing some random bitch on the table. I have a feeling that he will have the most tragic end here… Aside perhaps from Rider and unless they did some Caster back-story.

Speaking of which, it’s fun to see Waver doing something decent for a change. I guess his reputation of achieving skill through effort and hard work precedes him as displayed by his practice of finding out Caster’s whereabouts. For a second there, Waver reminded me of Batman back when I played Arkham Asylum. While he may have lacked Batman’s balls, his use of his gadgets and his analytic skills enabled him to solve the mysteries.

Lastly, the trust issues between Saber and Kiritsugu continue to be shaken. I never really realized it but what if Lancer did indeed betray Saber? What if by some sheer luck, Kayneth was able to use a command seal to kill Kiritsugu? Saber’s naivety would’ve caused her grief and regret. Much like how Emiya Shiro has been acting up with his naivety back in Fate/Stay Night, Saber is pretty much doing the same. Naively sticking to her ideals, contradicting that of Kiritsugu’s. I don’t know if there will ever be a time where they would agree on something seeing as how Iri interprets and defends Kiritsugu’s actions from Saber but it would be interesting if they come to realize a common goal.

Still on the area of trust, it seems that Gil’s influence on Kirei is working, which I interpret to be Kirei’s interpretation on how boring Tohsaka is based on how he keeps himself docile, ordering Kirei around to do his dirty work and never even moving a finger to get things done. Will we ever get to see Tohsaka in action or will he continue to be the boring person that Gilgamesh depicts him to be?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 18:06:48

    Tohsaka will get into action, I’m sure of it. But I doubt before the second season…:(

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 18:32:56

    Well, it looks like Rin will have a bit of adventure next episode… Is that a filler even?

    Reply

  3. x
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 03:46:14

    Can’t wait for Rin’s adventure XD. Seriously though, this anime really surprise me every week in a good way. I hope I’m not setting up too high an expectation for the second half :p.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 23:20:25

    I really can’t bring myself to take an episode entitled “Rin’s Adventure” seriously =|

    Reply

  5. x
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 01:03:44

    @baka~

    Neither can I, but I don’t want to set any expectations for it. Whether it is serious or just filler, I think I’ll enjoy it. After all, I did start watching this for Rin XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

