Glory in the Battlefield


I never expected to actually enjoy the second episode of Ben-To. I guess cheesy lines that reflect on the way of life rubs on me very fast. That being said, the biggest lolwut would probably be how Satou leveled up instantaneously. Well, we can argue on how he may be strong from the beginning but his lack of understanding on his surroundings especially about the rules caused his previous fuck-up. Regardless, Satou is still someone on the bottom of the food chain. He may have won today’s battle with remarkable results but we have still to see how he’d fare up against the true monsters of this show.

On another note, it never really did occur to me the efforts of eating lunch meals from the convenience store. Well, aside from the fact that this is something we never have to fight over, we rarely encounter discounts and the quality of such food in this country pales in comparison with the anime. But on a broader perspective, this episode held such a weight worth considering, not just on how we consume our food but in how we ought to respect the existence of even the simplest of things; The efforts bestowed upon them by the diligence of those who truly work hard to provide service and convenience that we indulge and take for granted every day.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 01:31:48

    I only watched this anime for two reasons, eye candy and epic fight scenes XD. Surprisingly, the jokes were pretty good in this episode, though the kidnapper princess was not my thing. Even more surprising is that I’m starting to like some of the characters. The amount of emphasis put on respect and honor in this anime makes it kind of cheesy yet nostalgic at the same time. I do agree with everything you said in this post baka~ 🙂

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 01:36:27

    Honest to goodness though, I was expecting this anime to be more of fanservice, along the lines of Majikoi if you will but I never really thought it would have such imposing content. The cheesiness is there but I think it’s not bad to be reminded of the same thing every now and then 😀

    Reply

  3. x
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 02:40:47

    Well, with a title like “Ben-To”, I don’t think anybody knew what to expect unless they read the novel. When I realize they were talking about bento, I thought it was one of those ecchi romantic comedies. When the fighting started, I was, wow! Speechless! This is totally battle shounen manga material! The second episode made it even more like a shounen manga. This has already way exceeded my admittedly extremely low expectations twice in two episodes. I don’t expect it to surprise me again, but now I’m somewhat hoping that it will have another surprise or two waiting in the later episodes… 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kuuki
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 04:53:26

    I loved that episode so much. It made me facepalm so many times but the next second I was in awe and smiled like an idiot because it ws incredibly adorable and beautiful and yeah I basically agree with everything you said!

    Reply

  5. Seinime
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 09:54:41

    This series is so good. Helped spark my literary genius.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

