Prepare for Battle


It’s the second episode and the animation quality is still consistent. A lot of character developments springing up before the war officially starts and I’m beginning to like a lot of characters already.

I hope I can practice this one of these days =|

While I respect Waver for his philosophy of hard work defeating talent, I hate his whining! Oddly enough, seeing as how fate had a hand in it, I believe that Waver may learn a lot from his partner, Iskander. Where waver lacks confidence, Iskander has gratuitous amounts of it and I don’t sense any bad vibes from the guy. Unlike Gilgamesh, Iskander doesn’t give off greedy vibes. It’s as if what’s there to take if the world is already his? Damn, I’m really loving his character already!

As for Caster, I have to admit that his philosophy flips a sadistic switch in my brain… I think Urobuchi had his way with this character. Going back, I really loved how he had his pep talk with his master, amazing him in how artful it is to slay people and how they ended up instantly in good terms. I guess fucked up people attract each other and what better way to voice psychopaths than Akira Ishida. His voice acting in Fate/Zero as Uryuu reminded me of his role as Apos in Mnemosyne which is quite sadistic to begin with.

Lastly, I never expected Kiritsugu to show his ally of justice side. If anything, I guess he’s the perfect embodiment of Archer and Emiya Shiro’s ideals where he will use whatever means necessary to save a few (bombing a plane to kill a magician which is a greater threat) all the while cherishing those he hold dear (spending time with Ilya and hating those who bestowed upon Saber’s fate).

Checking back, this series was to run for 24 episodes but it’s only episode 2 and things are really getting good. I wonder what more they have in store for us.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 20:02:09

    I like what I see so far. The pacing is good, I might even call it perfect. I don’t like watching prequels in general, but this is an exception. I still can’t get Carnival Phantasm out of my mind while watching this show XD. I suppose it will get a lot darker eventually. I’m still not sure I will be able to watch till the last episode, but this is really good!

    Reply

  2. Kuuki
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 22:22:46

    Surprisingly enough… I fell in love with Uryuu.

    But yees! That episode was awesome! I’m so happy I gave this serie a chance!

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 23:55:22

    @X

    slaughtering an entire family and showing a kid false hope is NOT dark for you? You may be more twisted than me X 😀

    @Kuuki

    the animation quality is still crisp and yeah, Uryuu was unexpectedly appealing… I guess I have Bluebeard and his ideals to thank for that :p

    Reply

  4. x
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 11:41:52

    Heh. It is dark, but I’m expecting it to get darker still. I’m wondering how much darker it will get. I can be twisted at times, but I’m not good with really dark stories :p. This one is long as well. 25 episodes. I wonder if it can keep my attention when winter season arrives… XD

    Reply

  5. x
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 15:41:10

    Seems like this is not going to be straight out 25 episodes. 13 episodes till December, then it starts again in April…

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 00:33:20

    If this will be split in two seasons it would mean that there are two important turning points for this series. One is during first season’s end and the other would be second season’s climax… interesting 😀

    Reply

  7. Keiri
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 14:27:53

    Man, this episode just reminded me of how much I hate/love the Uryuu and Caster team. Hate them because they’re one hell of a sick duo who slaughter people (especially children) for ambitions and amusement. Love them because they’re arguably the only team who are downright evil + psycho without any restraints, thus making for good entertainment when their erratic methods clash with those of the other Master&Servant pairs in the war. Love them or hate them, the story wouldn’t be as interesting if there isn’t a bunch of folks who know how to invoke strong feelings of contempt and disgust in the audience with their indiscriminate ways of killing amid all of the other somewhat more tactical-minded participants.

    And yes, gotta love the Waver and Rider team. Imho, they’re most lighthearted and heartwarming duo of the lot, and I reckon most would know where the emotional roller-coaster would head to once things get SRSBZNS and grim, heh. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

