Friendship starts when bullshit begins


I remembered back in the day, I was able to make a friend out of someone I’m not familiar with just because I noticed him humming a tune from Gundam Wing. From there, I suddenly started a conversation… While I have lost contact with him over the years, I have to admit that that was one of the memorable encounters I had in my life, It wasn’t special and if anything, it was totally bullshit. We talked about Gundams and Gundam Wing and to an extent, his influence on me made me appreciate mecha and anime.

Talk about destiny

So why did I brought that up? Because BokuTomo is just like that albeit, with a ton of craziness on the side.

BokuTomo’s beginning strongly parallel Haruhi’s except for two facts: (1)there’s no God-bitch that is meant to destroy the world and (2) no abnormals posing as friends to prevent apocalypse. That being said, the serious undertones of this series have been greatly covered-up by its comedic content. The fun factor of this show is like a drug that makes you forget literally how fucked up our characters are.

I’m not saying they all bear tragic pasts but how they face society just because of who they are. These characters have experienced alientation in all its forms; From Kodaka being labeled as the delinquet, to Yozora as the loner, to Sena as the celebrity; in which, I have to say, this series made a pretty damn job in pulling out the facts on how hard it is to be at the top.

To be surrounded by only admirers, with no one you can call a friend, you may be popular and powerful in life but not everyone can stand being alone.

I must not spoil ANYTHING about this character

From episode 0 up to this pilot episode, it seems that they abused the quality of Buriki‘s designs, evident with how drool-worthy they presented our cast from the opening animation.

As for the seiyuu cast, for some reason I feel weird whenever I hear Marina Inoue as Yozora and Kanae Ito as Sena. There’s something with Marina Inoue’s voice that projects Yozora more as a strong character rather than a crafty tsundere while Kanae Ito as Sena sounds much of a whiner than the competitive nature that Sena originally projects. As for Ryohei Kimura, I like his voicing of Kodaka. He easily projects Kodaka’s attitude with subtlety which is a match with the protagonist’s personality.

Overall, this is a good start and I could already see my anticipation for this anime paying off.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 20:36:10

    This one seems fun so far. I wasn’t really expecting much. I didn’t really enjoy the manga much, but I hear the novel is good. Loved the banter between the two girls, that surprised me. Normally that kind of scene annoys the hell out of me. The premise of not having friends to start a club is totally bullshit though. However, if this turn out to be entertaining, I think I can overlook that. :-p

    Reply

  2. Kuuki
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 21:58:30

    But it’s because the characters are fucked up that I love them!

    And this was definitely more enjoyable than a lot of things I’ve watched this season

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 02:04:34

    Aside from Fate Zero, this is one of the new anime that I eagerly anticipated for this season. The others being Persona, Horizon, and Ben-To

    Reply

  4. feal87
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 03:34:19

    Sena!!! Hau~ Omochikaeri!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

