Hanasaku Iroha

Way to go Capturing God... er... wrong anime?

After 26 long episodes, this series finally came to a close. Once thought to be AnoHana’s rival, while most may think that this anime served as a troll for the remainder of its run, it does pull of quite some nice punches from time to time.

As I have commented previously, this anime left the impression of work ethics and I guess no other anime appealed to me in that department other than this anime. Of course, one may argue that it’s common knowledge to “love” your work but sometimes, we wonder “how”. During the moments when I am lead astray by work-related stress, I turn to this anime for its guidance and by the end of the episode, I felt refreshed and motivated.

Of course, when it comes to non-work related issues, HanaIro may be shaken. For someone who have seen slice of life anime, I think HanaIro has nothing refreshing to offer. I mean, this anime suffered from insufficient character development that revolves around side characters most notably Enishi and Takako, and from time to time, Minko and Tohru. Considering that these guys took on a pivotal role near the end of the series, I felt they lacked the depth that would appeal to viewers. Not to forget, Yuina… Oh God how I hated her character development arc!

Never thought Enishi had his father's balls

If there’s anything that this anime emphasized, in my opinion, it would be the fact that it somehow took on a shounen approach in the sense that it made Ohana hog all the spotlight. She’s the most powerful character there is for this series, coming second to Sui, as her life has become the highlight of Hanasaku Iroha.

Seiyuu wise, while I still have my complaints with Chiaki Omigawa, I have to admit that I love hearing the voices: From Kanae Ito’s vibrant character as Ohana, to Aki Toyosaki’s gentleness as Nako, up to Sui Shijima’s strict lecturing and words of wisdom, everything that the seiyuu did made this anime enjoyable to watch.

In closing, HanaSaku Iroha is a make or break anime. If the work-based values appeal to you then fine. Otherwise, you might get bored with its slice of life component.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 23:11:44

    Agreed about the slice of life part of it. Though it shouldn’t have been unexpected. The first episode pretty much demonstrated what kind of characters they are. They have barely changed, if they changed at all, at the end. I was reluctant to even watch this anime in the early episodes, the first few was too painful for me. The later ones were somewhat better once I learn to only focus on the comedy (and ignore everything else) when it came to the non-work related stuff. At the end of the day, I did find the anime overall entertaining enough to finish watching it. I doubt I will get myself to watch it again though.

    Reply

  2. Keiri
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 00:38:07

    Same sentiments here. Initially, I thought HanaIro would appeal in the slice-of-life department from the first few episodes since it seemed to advertize itself that way…or at least try to. When it became evident later on that the developments in the series turned a tad too hilariously fantastical, I just blotted out the slice-of-life aspect all together except for yes, the themes related to working life and ethics. As odd as they were at times, I guess what worked for me was that I found comfort in relating myself with what the characters go through. Even if I most likely will never apply any of the logic/principles the characters did, I was just glad the series indirectly projected a sense of empathy for the lot of us who see similarities between what goes on IRL and in the show.

    On the whole, I ended up genuinely enjoying HanaIro for the work themes and lighthearted humor. Unfortunately the other parts of the story were mostly wasted potential imho. :s

    And yes, at least the voice cast were real gems. Surprisingly, I’ve even come to respect Omigawd Omigawa a little more. Obviously she still needs a LOT of work but listening to her performance from beginning to end of HanaIro has diminished my urge to make fun of her for now… Well, just a little. 😉

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 12:54:14

    @X

    Agreeing with you, watching this anime once is enough. Watching it again will drive me crazy.

    @Keiri

    Visually appealing and a great voice cast but yes, certain story arcs sucked. For a 26 episode anime, I think this is quite ambitious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

