Usagi Drop

I don’t think that Usagi Drop is one of the better anime from the previous season, if anything, I think it’s the BEST that summer 2011 could offer.

The realism presented by this anime has been (1) enjoyable and (2) educational. Being a bachelor for my age, I could never truly say that being a parent is hard. Sure, having a family broadens one’s world, at the same time, limiting one’s sense of self and freedom but to actually see characters experience such hardship is a different story from simply imagining it.

And that’s what Usagi Drop is for me. It is a reflection, a moral lesson that teaches us that having balls isn’t all that it takes to raise a family but the sacrifices that one has to face realistically as well as the joys of being a parent. Especially in Daikichi’s case; He adopted a girl with a vague relationship with his family, sacrificed his job for her, his time with himself just to be with her, and even gets flustered over the simplest of things that happens to her.

The reflections and lesson that Daikichi learned has been shared and passed on to us viewers effectively. A viewpoint of a man, a father, a mother, and in some cases, a son. The notion of the bonds shared by family has simply been amazing with this anime. From the presentation, to the execution, Usagi Drop delivered the message that it had to convey and it resulted in this anime being a good watch.

Now as for the voice, Ayu Matsura and Hiroshi Tsuchida are both new voices for me, with the former being a young seiyuu aspirant, reminding me of how Yuuki Aoi started back in Kure-nai. I think both of them did well especially Tsuchida whenever he exaggerates as Daikichi. His coarse voice and facial expression has rubbed on to me and even his moments of GAR made his character stand out.

While I miss Sayaka Ohara’s craziness as Beatrice (Umineko), she did a good job posing as a gentle mom. I think that Nitani and Daikichi are a good pair. Wonder if they ever got together. Lastly, Maaya Sakamoto wasn’t all that special in her role as Masako. Don’t get me wrong here, it just feels that anyone could land on Masako’s role and I think that having Maaya Sakamoto do it feels like a waste of her capabilities as a seiyuu. Imo, it would’ve been better if others took on that role.

In closing, from the cast to the story, Usagi Drop has been a consistent anime, delivering reflections; the hardships and pains of being a parent as well as the unparalleled joy of loving one’s child.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 00:20:35

    I think I agree with everything you said!
    Just felt that somehow the last episode didn’t give much of an ending feeling, then again, it’s hard to properly close a slice of life anime.

    (Oh and, since I’ve read the manga, I can tell you if Nitani and Daikichi ever got together, if you want)

    Reply

  2. x
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 00:39:31

    If I didn’t read manga past where the anime ended, I probably would have been able to watch this and enjoyed it to the fullest. I recommend this anime to almost anyone without reservations, though I could not bring myself to watch any of it. Maybe someday when I’ve mostly forgotten or gotten over the manga (assuming I live long enough :p), I can watch this anime and enjoy it (I probably won’t touch season 2 if there is one though :p).

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 00:50:20

    @Kuuki

    Spoil me please XD

    @X

    I read that the manga turned incestuous at a certain point… If ever I got to see that, i’ll rage D:

    Reply

    • Kuuki
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 02:54:09

      I can’t refuse such a request, can I? XD

      So, nope, they never got together, because she said no when he asked (that’s a loose summary ^^)
      But she got married with some guy we never saw.
      Even Masako finally got married with her guy and they got another baby together.
      And, yeah, one day, thanks to Kouki, Daikichi overhears something and Rin has to confess, and they finally got together when she graduates from high school.

      And even I, despite having quite the wild imagination, cannot imagine them together.

      Reply

    • x
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 04:09:38

      Well, it’s not that part that turned me off. It’s actually the time skip that happens after the chapters covered in the anime. All the relationships outwardly seemed to stay frozen for the years they skipped. It spoiled the story in my opinion. It felt like the author wanted to write a different story with the same characters but the new story felt like it was wandering in the wilderness to me. Eventually some of frozen relationship was excused with the old “it was for the children” crap. Then there’s the teenage angst (badly done in my not so humble opinion) and the boring storyline (I got so bored that I dropped it a few chapters after the time skip). I suppose I can’t really complain about these things, since it is a Josei manga after all. So I’m not exactly their target market.

      Reply

  4. Seinime
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 07:42:39

    Sorry, the screen shots are really irking me. Probably not the first one to mention this…but can’t the screen caps be fixed?

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 09:37:41

    @Kuuki

    what the… that just felt totally incestuous! i’ll definitely rage if this gets animated

    @X

    The thing with timeskips is that they either make or break the story… I guess it didn’t went so well with the manga

    @Seinime

    I think this is the first time I got feedback on the screencaps… In what way are they annoying you? the scaling? loading? bad choice of images? =/

    I would like to hear more XD

    Reply

    • Kuuki
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 10:31:58

      Actually, it isn’t, well technically at least it isn’t, because, pay attention to the superb plotwist, Rin isn’t the grandfather’s daughter biologically speaking.
      We have no idea who the hell is the real father though and that one plotwist is the thing that pissed me off the most I think, don’t really know why

      Reply

    • Seinime
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 14:29:25

      @baka~

      I’m not sure if no one brought it up or anything, but I tried it with Firefox/IE/Chrome with my comp to make sure it wasn’t just my browser acting up.

      http://gyazo.com/d7ab071c09b4ba2de8b9af6794c330ea

      The screencaps look really off. Perhaps you could manually resize them? Don’t know why it’s happening, since the WordPress defaults should keep their proportions good already…

      You can edit it here, http://gyazo.com/6d3ed74296775c6a1855a2d81d605e30
      Maybe 640 * 480, or something widescreen ratio or whatnot. Or maybe it’s just me.

      Reply

  6. x
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 14:47:53

    @baka~
    I think it would have been better if the author knew where the story was really going. From what I heard, when they started this manga, they didn’t even intended it to go beyond just one chapter.

    @Kuuki
    The trouble was that it wasn’t clearly presented. I felt that part of the plot was not utilized well enough. It was as if they put that in just so they can let them end up being together without offending their readers too much.

    @Seinime
    You mean the fact that the images have their aspect ratio skewed. @baka~ maybe you could try setting only the width of the images and leave the height alone. Not sure if it’s possible with wordpress (I haven’t blogged in years XD).

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 00:07:56

    @ Seinime

    whoah! I usually view my site by resizing the web browser but upon maximizing it, it did look that way. but tbh, I resize my images using this format:

    img class=”aligncenter” src=”” alt=”” width=”450″ height=”400″ /

    the only thing that I can deduce to be the cause is probably the format of my chosen theme. if I can haul my ass out of playing LoL, let’s see if there’s a way to make my site automatically rescale depending on the web browser =/

    Reply

  8. x
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 01:17:46

    If you remove height=”400″ it should look a lot nicer most of the time :p

    Reply

  9. baka~
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 01:26:35

    @X

    If you remove height=”400″ it should look a lot nicer most of the time :p

    edited: just like this new look?

    I still haven;t checked if I can tweak the themes… just realized how much fail Sacred Seven is… I want my (30 x 12) mins of my life (wasted in that anime) back!!

    Reply

  10. x
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 01:45:04

    Yeah, better.

    Reply

  11. Seinime
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 10:12:22

    @baka: YES! Much better. Prepare for a whole new level of traffic now. 😀

    And also, LoL IGN? We should play.

    Reply

  12. baka~
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 01:15:44

    @Seinime

    well, I don’t think we can play LoL together since there seem to be a regional limitations with LoL PH =/

    Reply

  13. Seinime
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 14:39:43

    @baka

    F***.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

